We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
198
107
31
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
107
31
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteak and ale piefish and chipslake districtoff the beaten trackboth nightsbig portionslovely locationstaying nearbywarm welcomeate heresunday lunchhearty breakfaststaff were welcomingbeer gardenbooked a tablenight stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

After a full days walk on Easter Sunday and coming off the hills quite late, we didn't fancy cooking for ourselves. We remembered having a great meal at this pub a few years back and decided to make a trip back to it to fill our hungry tummys! Great service, lovely atmosphere and delicious food. Just what we needed after a long day - it also didn't matter that we were still in our walking gear and walking around in socks (our boots were outside being all muddy!). Thanks for a great meal and we look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We had the most lovely 5 days staying at the Mill Inn a couple of weeks ago. We had stayed before, about 8 years earlier and fell in love with the pub. On subsequent return visits to The Lakes we often popped in for a pint but had mostly been staying in B&Bs in Caldbeck. This time our favourite place wasn’t available so we decided to give the Mill Inn another go. We weren’t disappointed! It’s cosy and friendly, and very reasonably priced. The staff are fantastic (all of them!), and Dave and Sharon couldn’t do enough for us. The food is good and the whisky selection is vast – both of which made me very happy! We had a lovely room, room 6. Huge bed and a bathroom with a bath and shower. It overlooks the front of the pub but it’s so quiet and pretty all around, it doesn’t matter that it’s not a mountain view (which some rooms have). It’s in a lovely location, just 15 mins drive from Keswick, and there are some nice walks straight out of the pub (we would definitely recommend Bowscale Tarn. Fairly easy walking with amazing views and a beautiful tarn at the top.)

We will definitely be back to stay again. Just need to learn not to eat too much for dinner and save space for the delicious full English breakfasts next time!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We visited the mill for a meal on saturday 24th feb, we come as often as we can as we love the place and its not too far to travel. Darren had the steak and ale pie which he says was the best hes ever tasted and i had the beef stew that was a special for the weekend which was also very, very tasty. We had a sticky toffee pudding to share which was obviously home made and stunning !

The pub seems fresher than last time we went, tables have been rearranged to give a more open feel and generally cleaner and less cluttered than before.

The food was fantastic, honest pub meals without the thrills and the beer is well kept ( the dizzy blonde is my favourite).

Look forward to our next visit already

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

My wife and I stayed at The Mill for 4 nights, with our Border Terrier dogs in mid-January. The bedroom was warm, suitably spacious and the 'super-sized' bed very comfortable. The en suite had all the necessary, with an over bath shower & sufficient floor space for 3 dog beds!
I whole-heartedly endorse the comments of another recent guest, regarding the quality of a) the food and b) the Staff and Management team. All the meals were made with fresh ingredients, substantial and tasty, and used top quality meat products sourced from a nearby farmshop. The 'full English' in the mornings meant packed lunches went uneaten on the hill!! There was a choice of 3 cask ales on tap, during our stay, all were very well kept & presented.
All the staff we met were pleasant, attentive and very friendly - nothing was any trouble and everyone had a smile - made a nice change.
I was sorry to hear on check-out, that the current tenants, Yve & Dave, are moving on - here's hoping your successors are as friendly, committed and welcoming as we found you! Thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazda1Highlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We stayed for two nights in mid-January 2018 on a walking holiday. The rooms were comfortable and clean so no complaints there although remember this is pub B&B not a hotel and tailor your expectations accordingly.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful throughout the weekend.

We ate there both nights, steak pie one night and steak the other. Can't praise the quality of the food enough, perfect after a long day on the fells. Breakfast was equally as impressive!

Good, quiet location in the northern Lake District but very easily accessed from the M6 or Penrith train station (15 minutes in a taxi). We walked Blencathra direct from the Inn up the eastern flank.

Mountain bikes are able to be stored in an outside lockable store so we didn't have to worry about leaving them in the car.

All-in-all, great place and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briantr0users
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews