We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
18
6
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
6
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2015

There was no room at the inn to stay so we had to be content to eat in the restaurant. But it was no hardship to dine here. Fabulous food in gorgeous setting. We had a memorable meal in a dining room that was elegant yet not stuffy. A nightcap at the adorable bar then we were off. Next time we will plan in advance and stay at the inn. The food alone is worth a trip.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Smaartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

How many times have we stayed here? Let me count the days...and with each stay we find ourselves drawn ever so more warmly into the quiet, friendly elegance of this lovely old inn. A restored mansion that offers comfortable...no that's an understatement, elegant? Not quite right either. Invitingly relaxed. Spacious, well furnished, lovely rooms. Great staff...of course. From a slightly busy highway 169 in Connecticut's elegant Quiet Corner, bend off the highway at Woodstock's hilltop for a half mile, turn off that country road into stunningly inviting wooded acreage for another quarter mile to the mansion. Quiet on quiet. Want a city venue? Go elsewhere. Janet will greet you with a smile ( return visitors may get a hug) and you'll be shown to your thoughtfully appointed room. If an elegant dinner is desired, go downstairs! At twice the price this would be money well spent!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenDillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Escaped a few towns over to Woodstock for an early birthday getaway weekend. Decided to stay at the Mansion at Bald Hill to experience my first B&B. Very pleased with the experience! Friendly staff to greet us when we arrived, beautiful decor, spacious room, and antique details that add to the experience. Stayed in the Roxanna room. The only bummer was that I was dreaming of soaking a big, claw foot tub (I don't have a tub at home and take advantage of one wherever I can) as some of their rooms have, except our room wasn't one that had a tub :( TV was a little dated, also, though we didn't watch too much TV. Beautiful gardens and grounds. Definitely take a walk around To take in all the beauty! Brunch the next morning was delicious, though not as many options as the brunch available to the public. Would definitely go back!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Boston_2_Ibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights in 2014. Outstanding room, food, grounds, staff. Enjoyed many little day trips to surrounding towns and villages.
Cannot recommend it highly enough. Quiet, peaceful and the breakfasts and restaurant food were to die for. Any future trips to the USA will include another stay here.
Loved it!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank PeterC192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Excellent food and service in a quaint old mansion. Our favorite place to eat for special occasions. This is a very beautiful estate. Soon there will be an expanded venue, right next to the mansion. You will be delighted with your dinner.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews