We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont get the hype”
Review of G's Burgers

G's Burgers
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Watertown
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Restaurant details
Connecicut
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I dont get the hype”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Food wasn't bad, but expensive for what it was. Like the other reviewers said its half carvel and half burger joint. I also think that people just thing its so great because of the area it is in.Food was ok but place is very forgettable

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ElmCityBaller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of the best burgers in the Northeast”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The G's Burgers environment is nothing fancy at all. It's roughly half of a building that has been a busy Carvel for many years. (The Carvel still occupies the other half of the building, so save room for ice cream!) In fact, it's much like a Five Guys, without the peanuts. And ooooh, what a burger! We've paid much more in the region for a much less tasty burger. The meat is fresh. It seems to be done one way (a little past medium) so don't have any expectations of ordering anything more fancy. Just a plain (except for toppings) and extremely flavorful burger.
My husband had a chicken sandwich and was very pleased with the taste. We skipped fries so have no opinion there. And of course we stayed for ice cream!
Expect a little bit of a wait at the counter. Then grab a stool or a chair and table. wait for your number to be called, relax and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeterMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Hamburger!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great hamburger place but they also make a mean Philly Cheese Steak, which is my favorite menu item with spicy fries. They share space with Carvel ice cream which makes it a favorite with the kids!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just burgers...nothing special!”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

After driving by here and seeing the "Best Burgers" sign out front a million times I finally stopped for a meal. Nothing special, just burger and fries. Not unique, food was lukewarm, shake was runny, the place was SO crowded and we waited a really long time. Fries were good but I would't go back....

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MXEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OVERPRICED”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

It's a burger and fries, not a steak. Are you kidding me? Just because you are the only place nearby does not mean you need to gouge! Nights- always messy and loud. I run in with grandkids for ice cream- couldn't pay me to eat there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthialwright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed G's Burgers also viewed

 

Been to G's Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing