We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
€118
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michelle C
Freeport, New York

They snubbed US military German Shepards who just got home.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2023via mobile
They advertise dogs allowed but they fail to share that it’s 40.00 per dog, we had two Heroes with us, bomb sniffing Well trained dogs that didn’t make a peep, they charged me 80.00 plus the regular room rate, we could have stayed at a much nicer near by hotel , over 200.00 for a dump with dogs barking all night next door!
I explained we had just adopted these heroes and they could give a rats you know what, all the guests were loving and petting them . Shame on this hotel!!! Do not stay at this unamerican money hungry dump!
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT, responded to this review
Responded 4 Apr 2023
Dear Guest
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and our hotel policy all though Our hotel IS pet friendly with pet fees required as every hotel does not just America's best value inn. yet we will work hard on issues you mentioned and do better Thank you for your feedback
Hotel Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €115
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    €118
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Residence Inn
    €169
  • Hotels.com
23.5 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
€206
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    €206
25.4 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €248
  • Hotels.com
24.8 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
30.0 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.3 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.1 km from Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Torrington
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
46
27
23
34
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
27
23
34
75
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2022

This motel is obviously suffering from neglect by the owners and needs to be completely renovated, or torn down, before accepting paying customers. We made reservations for two weeks in advance, paid $126.49, but there was one bath towel, one hand towel, and one wash cloth. When we went to get towels we were told they were "all out" but would bring some by the next morning. They did not even do that. Other guests also were also told they "ran out" of towels. Toilet seat loose, very dirty windows, very old dirty stained carpet outside all of the rooms. Daylight came in from the one and half inch gap under our door. The good: staff was pleasant and friendly, we felt bad for them fielding complaints from everyone. Our room was recently painted. Sheets were clean. Owners are milking this place for all they can get. Too bad.

Room tip: There are probably no good rooms.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R6377AOmarkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear Guest
We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay we will work hard on issues you mentioned thank you so much for the detailing feedback we really do appreciate it.
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Don't do it! Unkempt, moldy, dusty, carpet/room smells musty. Needs to be shut down for health reasons! Went to front desk to report leak in fridge, no one available. Back rooms and laundry room are in a creepy back area with no visibility to anything. Abandoned cars in lot.

Room tip: Avoid it.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sunysea50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

On the fence between poor and average due to the high costs of hotels in the area (this is a budget minded hotels).
Some observations:
Missing smoke alarm in our room
Inside room, new carpet, new bathroom
Breakfast (in late August) - had basic stuff from 8 to 10
Outside of room (on stuff like walkways to room) - very dirty, carpet was very dirty
Of note, they ran out of towels when were there (when we asked for another set) for 3 people
Compared to other hotels in area, much cheaper

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff77664
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Check In staff was not very nice. Had upstairs room was nasty getting there no elevator. needs much work. room was decent size, indoor pool looked ok but did not trust proper sanitation given rest of outdoor areas. parking and location is adequate, close to restaurants and other stores. Did not want to place any luggage on floor in room was too smelly. Not many other hotels in Torrington. Do recommend looking elsewhere to stay if possible. Will not stay here again even though it was closest to Barkhamstead that we could find

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank J8736PGsandrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina T, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

This hotel is the worst !!! The Manager Tina is rude and disrespectful! They charged me 2 times for 1 night. Such a disgusting room. Stains all over the carpet and the floor felt like it was going to fall in.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addisont930
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Americas Best Value Inn Torrington, CT, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear Addison,
We're terribly sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us, so we're shocked to read your remarks. Furthermore, we apologize for any disrespect you endured during your stay. We assure you that this is not typical of a visit to our establishment, and your concerns will be promptly addressed. Your feedback is appreciated, and we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews