We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and better”

Salsa's Southwest Grill
Ranked #25 of 206 Restaurants in Southington
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Everytime time we go it seems like it is ever better than the last. They have updated the menu. Sure they have burritos and fajitas, but the really good stuff are the novel spin on Mexican entree's. Barbacoa tacos are a favorite and now a regular feature. Save room for Sopasilla (fried taco shells with chocolate, honey drizzle and vanilla ice cream, enough for 4!). Don't rush your dinner. They have an extensive tequila menu as well as great cocktail menu of tequila based drinks. Don't be put off because it's a bit more expensive; this is real food.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gnolect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018

Been there a couple of times, it is alright. Seems a bit high priced for counter service for a cup of soup and an appetizer with a soda came to almost 25 my friend had a couple of very small tacos and a soup and small beer and paid the same. The soups were fair the tomato base was the same for both the goat and seafood soups just a very little different ingredients added when you tasted the broth only you could not tell the difference. There was plenty of steak in the food but even though it was cut into very small pieces it was very tough same for the shrimp in the soup. The food is plentiful. Counter service is ok but the cashier didn't even know there was soup on the menu or what they were.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bilmatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The service was quick and friendly. Somewhat of a limited menu but authentic Mexican food, not the typical Tex-Mex food we get here.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank debbieg1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I heard from a friend we had to try this place. It's in a strip shopping plaza, hard to see from road, and doesn't look like much. I had the Torta Cubana which in all honesty was one of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten. Steak, avacado, onion, fried egg...unbelievable! My son had a burrito but was jealous over my sandwich. My daughter had the chopped salad with chicken. It was HUGE. She said it was the best salad she ever had. Cannot wait to go back and try something else.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank sjdobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, very good food in a causal setting. Mexican dishes that you don't find in other restaurants! The girl at the counter was right! It was our first time there, but it won't be our last!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 983jillh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa's Southwest Grill also viewed

 

Been to Salsa's Southwest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing