We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and hunt lodge chic”

Dakota of Rocky Hill
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Rocky Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Dakota Restaurant in Rocky Hill. Take a step into an era of rich traditions with an intriguing mix of history — Adirondack mountain lodge, the Old West, the Rockies, and the Great Plains. Our reputation is built on quality, consistency, service, and value. Our steaks are served juicy, hot and sizzling; the fish and seafood are ocean fresh; the extensive salad bar features locally grown produce; the Swedish homemade bread is hearty, and the mud pie is irresistible. Whether you’re looking to come in for a casual lunch or dinner, our award-winning​ Saturday and Sunday Brunch, to watch a game in our tavern, or host a special event in one of our private dining rooms, we’ve got you covered.
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The restaurant is open and friendly. The food was classic steakhouse with no surprises. Salad bar was fantastic and the steak was perfect. They do what they do very well. I will be going back once I’m back in town.

Thank Tabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

Staff at Dakota's in Rocky Hill are always very welcoming and do a great job making sure that you have everything you need. The kids enjoy the coloring contest and seeing all the animals.

Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Never again. Salad Bar plates were so small a cupcake would not fit on them and the stake was like leather.

Thank jnorman192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

I'm not sure how to respond- we use 7" oval plates for the salad bar which would make for quite the big cupcake. In addition, you can return as many times as you'd like. As for your steak, I do apologize that it was not to your liking. As you can tell from our other reviews as well as our Trip Advisor Award of Excellence, your experience was not the norm. We encourage guests to let us know if an item is not satisfactory and we will replace the item or refund your money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed at super 8 right next door and ended up here 2 of the 3 nights we were in town due to convenience, coziness, service, menu and food quality. It's a steakhouse...my friends enjoyed the steaks (prime rib one night) they had both nights, I had scallops one night (yum) and the mesquite chicken & shrimp combo the other night...also good. Great fresh salad bar. Don't skip the homemade bread...delicious. Their signature mississippi mud pie did NOT disappoint! Servers were very friendly, down to earth and helpful.

Thank Thebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your frequent visits! As you note, in addition to quite a few meat options​ we do have a fairly extensive selection of seafood choices as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We had a gift card for almost 2 years and decided to go to Dakota's for brunch. We had been there for dinner before but not for brunch. So much to choose from, don't know where to start.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dakota of Rocky Hill also viewed

 

Been to Dakota of Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing