We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
363
134
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
134
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool africology spa stunning hotel large hotel room service turn down service bars and restaurants buffet breakfast overlooking the ocean tour group south africa restaurant staff across the road only stayed one night rooms are spacious attention to detail following morning
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This hotel is well situated on the PE beach front...Plenty of parking and right next to the Boardwalk entertainment centre. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and oif good standard... Their breakfasts are above average and the staff are all friendly and more than willing to assist.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are an added plus
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peterC3822UH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear peterC3822UH,

We are absolutely elated about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for selecting the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Hotels can be quite beautiful, with stunningly designed rooms and a view to die for and then let themselves down in a very simple way ... this hotel for me is an example of just that.

We only stayed one night and arrived quite late, having travelled from Durban. We wanted a meal and we did not want to go out of the hotel. We were shown a bar/restaurant area where we chose from a reasonably restricted menu. We waited some 45 minutes, only then to be told that our choices were no longer available. What was worse, in our view was that this was an area where smoking was permitted and there were other guests who were smoking cigars and cigarettes around people who were trying to enjoy their meals. Ironically it appeared that smoking was not allowed in the main reception area and this struck us as bizarre. The delays continued as we had to wait and then prompt repeatedly for our bill.

The following morning at breakfast we found the staff to be quite surly and not particularly helpful or efficient. We also experienced a similar approach to us by the Reception staff when we checked out.

This hotel has all of the ingredients for an excellent experience but I fear the recipe needs to be tuned in the areas of Customer Service and Customer Experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SusannaW799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear SusannaW799,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We value your business and sincerely regret that the service was not aligned with your expectations. I will be sure to address this issue with the relevant departments.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I trust that you will look at this as an isolated incident and that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I stayed here for one night, as part of a tour group, doing South Africa. Arrived mid-evening after lying in from Durban. So, was nice to arrive at a lovely, luxurious hotel. The room was gorgeous, large and spacious with a fabulous bathroom. All rooms seem to look out over the Ocean. Great breakfast in a spacious restaurant. Australian Cricket Team were in residence at the time!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms look out over the Indian Ocean
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidevanwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear davidevanwilliams,

We are absolutely elated about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for selecting the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Room was fine, location was excellent. Plenty to see and do in the local area. Check in staff were excellent as was the concierge and the hotel driver, Laurence, we used to find a laundry was superb.
The only downside and the reason for a star loss were the staff in the breakfast area. No attention to detail so when the butter, milk, eggs etc ran out they had to be asked to replenish. Simple training needed.
Would still recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear TK1956 ,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We value your business and sincerely regret that the service was not aligned with your expectations. I will be sure to address this issue with the relevant department.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and that you will find a visible improvement, trusting your next stay will be as enjoyable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

This is not a “5 Star” hotel. It is opposite the beach and the breakfast was really good, but there is no visible care factor, attention to detail or ability to do the simplest things.

Our flight arrived on schedule, we were picked up on schedule , got to the hotel on schedule 1pm ...no room available. We had been traveling 30 hours. No good.

Went to a bar nearby for an hour, came back and they put us in a smoking room having specifically asked for non smoking.

Changed rooms, went to have a shower - on bath towel. Called down to get one, waited half an hour, went to the pool instead. Nobody offered drinks, food, nada. The woman looking after the bar was in her phone and there seemed to be no actual bar just a fridge with Coke.

Went back to the room, no towel. Called again, waited, nothing. Went and stood at reception until they got me one - 10 mins at least.

We only stayed one night thankfully. We have now stayed at a fair few places in South Africa and this is easily the worst and also the most expensive.

Don’t go

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We value your business and sincerely regret that the service was not aligned with your expectations. I will be sure to address this issue with the relevant departments.

Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I hope that you will look at this as an isolated incident and that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews