We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of options”

Ashley's Ice Cream Cafe
Ranked #5 of 15 Dessert in New Haven
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This ice cream shop is in a small location that has maybe a dozen chairs. The staff seems to be composed of Yale students. The young lady that served us was nice and patiently took our order. We were a party of four. Chocolate chip, butter crunch, vanilla, pistachio and strawberry were among the flavors that we ordered. Some of us had toppings like almonds, Oreo cookies and sprinkles. Even though it might not be the best ice cream we've tasted, it was pretty good.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank WaiPRUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Upon seeing two competing ice cream shops within blocks of one another I was determined to select a clear winner. Sorry Ashely, it wasn't you. Your ice cream was flat and seemed to have an overabundance of air mixed in with the ice cream. Almost like a DQ soft serve.
Then I walked down the street.........

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Tupelo010835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Sign says: Voted best ice cream in the state. Ha! By whom? It's a tiny joint in downtown New Haven, limited seating. Ice cream is standard stuff, found anywhere. Unattractive interior, cheap seats and tables. 12 people capacity at most. Service without a smile. May have been better years ago, but average at best. Don't go out of your way.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kenneth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This is a favorite stop of our daughters. Not only did they serve our human folks but gave a small tasting to our doggie as well. The flavors were plentiful and the servings were big. Loved it.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank mb52015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We visited Ashley's with a few friends - everyone loved the ice creams or shakes that they ordered. A few days later we also got the Oreo ice creak cake from Ashley's and that was really delicious too!!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shahana19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashley's Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ashley's Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing