We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Mystic
Nearby Hotels
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Mystic Groton(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$160
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler's Inn(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$62
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mystic)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
660
377
97
33
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
377
97
33
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarbucks coffeewet barsitting areashuttle servicefree breakfasttwo double bedsoutdoor poolegg sandwichvery nice hotelwould definitely stay here againpull out couchgreat place to stayroom was spaciousold mystic villageoatmealoff the highwaylocal attractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,001 - 1,006 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and clean. Breakfast was good.
Nice and quiet at night. Beds were comfortable. No problems. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockpicker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and found it to be very well maintained and clean. The rooms are a very nice size which is typical for Hyatt Place properties. The only issue I have with the size of the rooms is the bathroom size which is not proportionate. They need to increase the size of bathrooms in their new properties being built. The only real problem in this hotel is the attitude of some of the staff. The desk and kitchen area staff are a bit standoffish. They could use some lessons in hospitality. A smile and a better attitude would go a long way. I noticed that the cleaning staff was very friendly and polite. This hotel has a pool but it is outdoors. Why someone would build a hotel with a pool outdoors in New England is beyond me but needless to say it is probably only open 3 or 4 months of the year at most. Someone wasn't thinking on this one. Overall this is a good hotel in Mystic and close to its surrounding activities. The casinos are not really too far and the cost of this hotel in winter at least is allot less than staying at the casinos themselves. There is a diner across the street from the hotel. Don't bother with it. The food is not very good and it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel face a rock cliff. It is ok if you want peace and quiet but you won't see much out of the window.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricksreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

the lowest rate listed on their website was $89. We have an Entertainment book that said that Hyatt would give 10% off the best available rate. When we called to get the special rate we were told that the $89 rate was already discounted and they refused to give us the 10% discount. Hyatt claimed that they are not responsible for what Entertainment puts in their book. Do they really expect me to believe that the Entertainment book put in a Hyatt offer without Hyatt's permission??? If Hyatt is going to put an offer in the Entertainment book then they should honor that offer. Avoid this bait-and-switch trap.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriot.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had an aquarium visit and this place turned out to be a good choice. Also walking distance to the mystic village and with plenty of choices to eat outside within walking distance.

Rooms and the lobby were big, clean, non-smoking and pretty quiet. Staff was pleasant to deal with.

Room layout is good as shown on the pics on their website, with a partition separating the bedroom and the big swivel TV is a blessing. The Hyatt Plug panel is convenient to attach our devices. It's a nice little studio apartment, though for those facing Greenmanville Ave, the view outside is of the cemetry on the other side of the road.

Bathroom is kinda small and the bed/pillows though soft and nice, was not as good as we were hoping for. Maybe we are too used to the nice mattress back home.

Parking is free and the parking lot is well lit at night and feels safe.

Breakfast was pretty decent too, we reached around 9:30AM and were not expecting much, but were pleased to find plenty of stuff still around and lot of people enjoying the breakfast at that time.

Dunkin Donuts/Domino's is next door and further up the road (right from the signal) towards the aquarium are other good places to eat like Ten Clams, Go Fish, Five guys and other such places. Further up Greenmanville Ave past the 95 underpass is Thai One On, which though on the pricey side was pretty good Thai food.

Will definitely stay again, if returning to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnsarMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt from January 14-16 as a last minute excursion. The hotel is directly across the street from a cemetery!!! If you are looking for great water views this is not the place but if you are interested in grave sites there is plenty to see. The majority of the hotel staff was pleasant. Do not check in with a Visa debit Card because they will hold an additional $50.00 dollars a DAY from your bank account!!! So our bill was $280 dollars when it should have been $160.00 plus taxes.

We left from New York to visit Mystic for a few days and used our traveling bank card because we have had issues with identity theft in the past. Well the hotel charged us $30.00 on top of the $280 they were already holding and bank would not let this go through. Upon returning from the casino we returned to our room which the Hotel decided to lock us out of. This hotel locked us out of our room, away from our clothes, car keys and my purse. When I went to the front desk the manager on duty stated that our debit card had been rejected. I told her that we had prepaid for our room and I had the receipt that stated this too. Another manager came over and stated that the first manager made a mistake and they we were fine. I urged both managers that they needed to improve on their policy of locking patrons out of their room because I simple voice-mail would have remedy this situation. They gave us our keys but I was still upset and frustrated by this practice. I went back down stairs printed out a bank statement that showed our account information and account balance plus I circled the area where the Hyatt had taken our money in advance. This was my first and last time staying at a Hyatt!!! All the manager said was sorry and that was it! You would think that after you lock someone out their room and embarrass them in front of other patrons they would do a little more.

Don't pay for the $15.00 shuttle to the casinos because parking at the Casino is free!!!!The free breakfast was dry and lack taste.There is only three floors at this hotel and if you face the cemetery there are spot lights that shine directly in your room at night, so if you need total darkness like me go somewhere else.We also stayed in a room with a fold out couch and the design of the room is just bad. If you bring kids or anyone else there is only one t.v. that swivels. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else closer to the casinos or further in downtown Mystic. This Hyatt needs to be ashamed of themselves!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Truth_in_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews