We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great like it used to be”
Review of The Green Room

The Green Room
Ranked #50 of 167 Restaurants in Middletown
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The Green Room has been a favorite lunch place to meet a friend from the other side of the state, but this last visit was a huge disappointment. The food is fine, but waiting 45 minutes for a salad is not. While diners seated in the restaurant waited, the kitchen took care of a large number of take-out orders. Not good!
Also, the place was busy, so it was very noisy...no longer a charming cozy place to catch up with all the news of friends. Won't be going back. Too bad.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2016

Daughter works at Wesleyan, so we met on a Friday for Lunch. Such a charming place. Reminds one of being in England with teapots and tea cups all around. Plus paintings on the of Locals and wicker chairs etc.
And the food is delicious and the platings make the food very appetizing.
Parking is validated with a ticket from the garage or across the street parking lot. The restaurant is tucked into 124 College St, Middletown. I will go there and bring friends.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ortrud s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I work in an office nearby and this little restaurant is one of our favorites for lunch. Sandwiches, salads, quiche and other specials are all delicious and the plate presentations are very nice. Clean place, excellent service and all homemade food. They also have a dessert table - usually a few different cakes to choose from and they're all delicious too. The walls are filled with original artwork that is available for purchase. Lots of ladies dining here at lunchtime. Cute little tables and chairs - a big assortment of teas. Definitely give it a try for lunch:)

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scoopjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

When we first walked in we noticed that the decor was kind of dated. But everyone who was there and eating looked very happy. The selection of food on the menu was great. And something that I especially like, homemade soups were offered. The prices are alittle high for lunch. But you do get quite a lot of food. Sandwiches come with a decent sized salad that is chock full of fresh fruit. Our waitress was so nice and attentive even though it was busy and she was the only one. If you don't mind the old fashioned look of the place, the food will definitely make you glad you came!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hungrygirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The Greem Room is off a side stree,t and in part of a parking garage. It is relatively "invisible" until you look for it. The sandwiches my friend and I had were excellent. This is not a place for a fast lunch, but a place to drink your tea with leisure. It's best to arrive early. We would come again.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Room also viewed

 

Been to The Green Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing