We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and popular with the locals”
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Carlton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Visit the Fox in Carlton and enjoy a warm welcome from landlady Alison. Thurs night is quiz night; August bank holiday enjoy live music at the beer festival. It’s a free house with a good selection of ales. Pretty bar and garden area

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank KeepMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonAtTheFox, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, hopefully see you at the Beer Festival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I spend many a Friday in here listening to music. Alison does a fine job of providing entertainment in the form of beer festivals and hosts the musicians picnic. When I eat here the quality is good and cost effective. It is wholesome pub grub. I especially enjoy the desserts.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank JjLo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonAtTheFox, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Many thanks, hopefully see you in 2 weeks at the Beer Festival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We love going to The Fox on a Sunday. The roast is excellent with masses of veggies and superb roasties! The puddings are all homemade and delicious, we are particularly fond if the bread and butter pudding, it is just how you remember it when mum made it at home! Service is friendly and I can honestly say that the landlady would do anything to make you feel welcome. Hubby also says it's the best beer in Bedfordshire. Thanks to everyone at The Fox!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonAtTheFox, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Many thanks for the lovely review, always a pleasure to see you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We had a Sunday roast yesterday 3rd June, and the food was excellent. Great value for money. Had salmon starter, and roast pork main, so full couldn't have a pudding, but there was a good selection. The service was excellent, and the atmosphere was perfect for a nice Sunday. Thank you for a lovely lunch.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank _sdproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonAtTheFox, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch, next time miss the starter and go for the home made desserts!! Thanks Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We had Sunday lunch at this lovely country pub. The food and service were excellent. It is a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and is run with joyful efficiency by the landlady, Alison, who makes everyone feel welcome. We will definitely book a table for lunch when we next visit Carlton.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank brianstephens17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonAtTheFox, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday roast, hopefully we will see you again. Regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Carlton, Bedfordshire
Odell, Bedfordshire
 
Newton Blossomville, Buckinghamshire
Turvey, Bedfordshire
 
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Olney, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing