We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to try a local.”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Carlton
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Royal Oak, Carlton is a freehold pub, fully renovated in 2016, serving local and international beers and creating classic pub food from freshly prepared seasonal ingredients
Restaurant details
Description: The Royal Oak, Carlton is a freehold pub, fully renovated in 2016, serving local and international beers and creating classic pub food from freshly prepared seasonal ingredients
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We didn’t want to go too far for a quick event meal so chose The Royal Oak, we were not disappointed, the staff are really good and friendly and the meal was very good value for money. My wife loved the Ribollita soup and my liver and bacon was very nice, we will be going back.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank CPM1Bedfrordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

I love this pub. Freehouse. Clean, chic, nice wines, great food, family and dog friendly, great staff, chilled music. Thanks for a much needed relaxing lunch break!

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Safari83272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Visting nearby Harrold we hoped to eat in a local pub. Evidently no pubs left in the town but a few minutes drive over an ancient bridge brought us to Carlton and The Royal Oak. Large car park in the back was a surprise as in so many small villages parking can be iffy. The restaurant has recently been totally rebuilt with a clean, sharp looking interior as well as plenty of outdoor seating. Great menu with a number of specials including a venison stew which one of our party ordered. Personally I ordered the burger which had a very large, very favorable piece of meat .... one of the best I've had in a long time. Good selection of beers and wine plus friendly and quick service.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Warm welcome & great customer service . Food was hot & a decent portion . The place was spotless . Even the lols were sparkling . Highly recommend a visit .

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Folliefollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

It's rare for dormant local pubs to reopen these days, so we were on the doorstep when the Royal Oak reopened as a free house back in May 2016. The building has been renovated with significantly more than just a lick of paint, and is now a warm comfortable place to come for excellent good value beer and great home made food.
We have been lucky enough to experience the odd party and special event at The Oak since, and we just keep on coming back.
The Oak has become a place for us to meet up with friends for food and a few drinks.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 552KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Carlton, Bedfordshire
Odell, Bedfordshire
 
Turvey, Bedfordshire
Harrold, Bedfordshire
 
Harrold, Bedfordshire
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing