We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
228
193
92
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
193
92
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hampton inn off the highway room was clean stay there again we've stayed the breakfast area free breakfast front desk staff inns kim ct rates hallway nyc
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018

this property was a Hampton Inn so it has all of that ambience for a lower price.The rooms have well insulated glass windows and great LG window units.I stay here in Summer and never found better running ac units.The rooms are super quiet.Must be well insulated as never heard anyone above me or in hallway or on side of me.The interstate and parkway literally down the street yet hotel on a quiet side street.They have weekly rates.Staff are very knowledgeable.They allow pets and notice that a lot of guests have dogs with them.They are a no smoking property.

Room tip: rooms all great
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnMeriden, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear ar a,
Thank you so much for your terrific five star review on Trip Advisor. Our individually climate controlled rooms offer clean, smoke free and very comfortable atmosphere for both business and leisure travel through any season of the year. We look forward to you being a frequent Guest.



Sincerely,
Sharon Funderburk Correll
Front Desk Supervisor, Red Roof Inn
10 Bee Street
Meriden, CT 06450
203-235-5154
redroofmeriden@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Pros included friendly staff. Unfortunately that's it. Stayed 2 nights.

Creepy front doors felt like I was going into a house of horrors. Strange characters lurking around. Loud music and fighting going on in one of the rooms near ours. A post bar fight took place in the parking lot at 2 a.m. my first night. Room doors slam loudly. Bathroom barely has room for the tub and toilet and they were wedged in like a campground. Rooms have no carpeting and there was a full waste basket underneath the desk. The rooms have a cold sterile feel. It got cool at night, being one of the first fall nights. Unfortunately the extra blanket in the closet was very inadequate.

The room was serviced at 6pm--not appropriate.

I would say about the biggest investment that should be made in this building are with the doors. The front doors are creepy black doors that whip open and make you feel like you're going to prison. The room doors look like institutiomal doors and they slam hard when opening and closing. Only one of the room key cards worked.

My fiance had paid upfront through Expedia, and when checking in, the clerk insisted that the room was not paid for. we checked again the next day and although the staff person had a difficult time finding evidence that it was paid, she eventually confirmed that it was. Very strange.

Overall, there were many more things wrong than right was this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jacqueline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnMeriden, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Jacqueline Z,
That you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at Red Roof Inn Meriden on Trip Advisor.
Our front doors are what is called a fold out design and are two sets of automated doors operated by a motion sensor placed in our outer and interior lobby to allow easy and convenient access for Guests to move luggage and carts in and out of our reception area.
Our rooms have all been recently remodeled and feature a bright burgundy and gold color scheme with matching art work above the desks. The room doors are marked with the room number and the Red Roof trademark symbol and are matched to the color theme of the room.
We hope you will give us another try the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Sharon Funderburk Correll
Front Desk Supervisor - Red Roof Inn
10 Bee StreetMeriden, CT 06450
203-235-5154
redroofmeriden@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We have been staying here for the past month and we have found this hotel the cleanest, most professional staff, cleaning staff and all who operate this facility to be top notch. They go above and beyond with any requests we may have and if there is a situation, the resolve instantly. The staff as well as other patrons have become extended family and friends for life. we are even considering the ones whom we became close with to get together sometime next spring and all have a reunion here to catch up on what we all have been doing since we stayed here. We would highly recommend this Red Roof Inn. We thank you all for making our stay comfortable and welcomed here. Mr and Mrs Sorber

Room tip: Try visiting the hotels surrounding this area to compare like we have.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robinsorber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnMeriden, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear robinsorber1,
We truly appreciate your loyalty as a frequent guest and Redicard Member. We also see that you have a distinction for quality and value. Premium Guest experiences are worth reminiscing about and we are so glad that you have created fond memories with us.


Sincerely,
Sharon Funderburk Correll
Front Desk Supervisor, Red Roof Inn
10 Bee Street
Meriden, CT 06450
203-235-5154
redroofmeriden@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

The headboard on my wife bed came loose and slid down between the head of the bed. Nails were sticking. If she were laying down rather than sitting up she would have been injured. There was no toilet paper. None was sent upon request. We had to go down and get it. When problems were reported to front desk they were not helpful or at all apologetic.

Room tip: choose somewhere else
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnMeriden, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Petewer,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us on your recent visit. Additional amenities are available upon request, however, we are a focused service hotel and while additional supplies and amenities are delivered to rooms as a courtesy to guests when time allows, during times of heaviest arrival (check in) guests are responsible to come to front desk to receive additional supplies there. We truly regret that you feel the Staff was not helpful regarding the headboard issue with your room, since as soon as the occurrence was reported, you were immediately offered to be relocated to any available room in the Hotel of your choosing, and you made a choice to decline that offer. We do value every guest and although every room is inspected on a daily basis, a maintenance issue may arise that we are not previously aware of and with no sign or warning of the issue. We hope you will give us a chance to meet and exceed your expectations in the future.


Sincerely,
Sharon Funderburk Correll
Front Desk Supervisor, Red Roof Inn
10 Bee Street
Meriden, CT 06450
203-235-5154
redroofmeriden@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked a one night stay at the RRI, because we were visiting our son at a nearby university for Homecoming Family Weekend. We entered the establishment with trepidation,as the exterior doors would barely open. We were greeted by Carol, received our room key, and headed to our room. We were afraid that we were going to get stuck in the elevator, because it seemed to stall on the way to the 4th floor. The hallway on the 4th floor smelled really bad, and had a feel of the hotel in the Shining. All of the room doors were beaten and damaged. We entered the room, planning to relax, but checking it out as we began to unpack. My husband found someone else's hair on the bed and in the sink in the bathroom. We talked for a few minutes about whether or not to stay, but one look out the window at the drug deal taking place in the parking lot, we decided we had to leave as we felt very uncomfortable. Upon checkout, which was about 15minutes after arrival, we were told that we could not check out. I asked Carol to speak to a manager, and she said that there was no one else on duty. She offered us another room, but we explained that we were "grossed out", and just wanted to leave. She again stated that we could not check out. We said that we wanted to leave, but she argued with us and told us no. I stated that I wanted something in writing so that if we left, and she rented the room to someone else, we would not be taking responsibility for anything that might happen. She wrote in her little log, snd I took a picture of it. That was the best i could get. I was shocked and amazed at the refusal to check up out. DON'T EVER STAY THERE. That's all i can say......

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnMeriden, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Fiona C.,
We are very sorry that you choose not to complete your stay with us.
We value all guest input and constructive suggestions for improving our services and facilities. However, we are very disappointed in guests who try to mislead other future or potential guests with information that is totally False. There were no issues with our doors or elevators. All reservations made through a third party are checked out in our system on the designated date of departure.
All guest rooms are cleaned thoroughly and inspected on a daily basis. Although extremely seldom, it is possible that a single hair may have been missed in error. At the time you expressed your concern, you were very fairly offered any other available room including an upgrade to a Superior King at no additional charge. The behavior and conduct displayed in our Hotel lobby was not acceptable for any Hotel guest or customer.


Sharon Funderburk Correll
Front Desk Supervisor - Red Roof Inn
10 Bee StreetMeriden, CT 06450
203-235-5154
redroofmeriden@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews