We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the money at Costa del Sol”
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Ranked #247 of 482 Restaurants in Hartford
Cuisines: Argentinian, Colombian, Latin, Peruvian, Puerto Rican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Unfortunately the restaurant is terrible. Service is extremely slow (takes over an hour and 30 minutes to get your menu), the staff is not trained for the restaurant business and the food is mediocre and "ethnically mislabeled". If you are looking for Spanish style food and can spend a little bit more visit Costa del Sol down the street.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarYelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Came here recently with friends....the food took for ever, easily about an hour and a half. The reason was they only had one cook and were not expecting a big crowd...it was friday

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Coastal580313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My family and I (adults, group of 8) went there for dinner and to listen to some music. Neither disappointed. Only 2 of us had been there before, so it was new for the rest of us. We are foodies, so decided to try various apps - absolutely delish! (Pics attached.) The totsones rellenos (stuffed fried plantains) were delish - and a new way for us to try tostones. The picada app could have been an entree. It took all of us to eat our way through it - a mix of different fried chunks of meat with yuca and potatoes. The Casona sampler is a mix of staples and just as good. The Chef came out to check up on us a couple of times, which was nice. By the time we received our entrees, all but one of us was packing leftover food. Entrees are a hearty size. The waitress may have been relatively new, but what she lacked in experience she made up for in eagerness to help and personality. Just after 9:30pm we went into an other room to take basic salsa lessons (we're Puerto Rican and know how to dance... but it was fun to be with everyone); they then continued with dancing once the lessons were done. Before we left, we went back into what was formerly the dining room, but now it was converted to an 80s dance floor replete with strobe lights and 80s free-style music. The night was young so there weren't a lot of people, which was fine by us... we had the floor mostly to ourselves. As we were leaving, the "younger" crowd started arriving and you can tell the place was getting packed. Good food, enjoyable music and atmosphere - a great way to spend a Saturday night.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E4JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Absolutely the WORST place to go in CT! The staff behind the bar is extremely rude, apathetic and very careless when following health rules! Handling money, then touching the insides of customers cups, handing out water bottles that are already opened and missing water, eating food behind the bar with their fingers then mixing drinks- just pathetic. Waited 15 minutes to get a Absolutely the WORST place to go in CT! The staff behind the bar is extremely rude, apathetic and very careless when following health rules! Handling money, then touching the insides of customers cups, charging $3 for water bottles that are already opened and missing water, eating food behind the bar with their fingers then mixing drinks- just pathetic. Waited 15 minutes to get a drink. Finally gave up! drink.. Finally gave up!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Photomomma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The food at Casona is great, and the music that is brought there is truly Hartford's top notch musicians.

however, the owner "Chris", a man who looks like he is from South Asian (Indian) descent, with glasses, is an absolute assho***. He was rude to some friends of mine and my musician friends tell me he underpays them, often just offering $260.00 for a trio of musicians (fair pay would be $125.00 a musician).

He also employs a not very tall white woman with reddish-brown hair as a bartender who is very rude and sometimes over charges people.

Though I love the music, until Casona changes owners and that woman is no longer working there, I will not visit it again. Skip it, folks....

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank FirebrandX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casona also viewed

 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing