We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
22
35
41
33
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
35
41
33
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Went from a national chain to privately owned. Slowly renovating rooms. Halls, stairs and doors are all very old. Room was surprisingly nice, king bed was very comfortable and the highest bed I have ever slept in. Small fridge, microwave, flat screen, free wi-fi and continental breakfast included in room rate. Location is on a busy street to get a room in rear to avoid excessive noise.

Room tip: Request rear room to help with street noise.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chili J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Cheap rates and convenient location was what got me here.
Plus side: No visible bugs, maintenance was nice and good location.
Cons: Mildew smell, sketchy feel and furniture, oh and there were hairs on my pillow. When I asked at the desk for housekeeping to please adequately clean, they changed the one pillow but didn't bother with anything else.
Did not want to stay in the room solo.
Good place for seedy dealings and perhaps hiding from the police.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CalliopeKillDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The Whitney Inn and Suites is a sprawling old building. It appears that the family owners are working hard to update it. Our room on the second floor rear was totally updated and clean. The bedding was all new and the bathroom was spotless. The hallway rug, however, was dark and needed cleaning. Hopefully the family is addressing the common areas. I can't speak for the lower level motel-style rooms that face the main road, but we did have a great night's sleep in our room. The adequate breakfast buffet is an added bonus to start the day. Great location for visiting Quinnipiac.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2Virgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

DO NOT waste your money at this DUMPY, SMELLY Motel. The miserable, grumpy woman on reception is the last type of person who should be greeting paying customers at a motel. Walked into reception and the dirty smell is enough to put you off, and that is where the free brekkie is offered, will NOT be eating anything at this motel. The owners should be ashamed of the room we had. Mould on walls, badly stained bedcover, baby seat under the table and two bags of STUFF behind the door? Flushed the toilet and it overflowed onto the floor???? Went back to reception to request a refund. Another woman was on reception and offered a nicer room? I said you have nicer rooms ? Why would you put anyone in that room if you had nicer rooms? Went and checked out the 'Nicer room', which was clean & tidy.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kellyloo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Right off the main road. You could hear traffic but with the a/c on it wasn't bad at all. The room was nice and clean but the bathroom was very dated and had places in the tile grout and seems that had questionable spots. The breakfast was plain and did not have many options but the area was clean and the food available was good. I would stay here again if passing through.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews