We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
164
134
87
34
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
134
87
34
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best western olympic inn mohegan sun free shuttle attached restaurant hot tub have stayed here many times room was clean free breakfast buffet place to stay indoor pool nice hotel staff was friendly groton area fitness center convenient location parking lot sub base
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

A really nice and not a fancy hotel. Everything worked well. It's a nice family place that is not expensive but hardly a "roadside" place that caters to those who are looking for the inexpensive places. Nice breakfast downstairs every morning.

Room tip: Best quietness is on the back with an OK view.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

It's a great location, with hot buffet breakfast included, free shuttle to and from Mohegan Sun casino, great friendly staff front desk, maid service, bartenders, breakfast staff, easy parking available anytime, safe area

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Not really happy with this Best Western. The room had a very odd layout and the bathroom was designed for a very short person. On the web, it is stated that this hotel has a free breakfast and there was not a free breakfast. Walking down the hallways you could tell that a lot of people were smoking in their rooms. Entrance to the hotel is off to the side and the parking options are terrible. Good location for access to the highway and local attractions, but the hotel needs a major do-over.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie A, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Groton / Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Michael Wayne,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I sure am confused on your survey, why would you say bathroom was for a short person? It's like you have to duck to go to the bathroom? I have to laugh. The bathroom is for normal size people with a standard toilet and ceiling height. Never heard that one before. Breakfast is included, it certainly is, you were given $25 in restaurant play money per day that more than pays for breakfast. Not sure why you would say this either.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 860-445-8000.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

To start with, I would recommend this hotel for their "play money" system, where they award guests a $25 voucher daily to use at Flanagan's Bar and Grill, which is found just off the lobby. The bar staff, specifically Cindy, Dee, and Lisa, make the visit to this restaurant worthwhile. Conservatively, the fare is average (like an Applebee's) but exceeds expectation with service and portion sizes. The facility itself is a 6/10, with pool/jacuzzi work taking place over multiple days of my stay. Also, smoking was permitted on the 2nd floor within the last year, so try to avoid this floor if that bothers you. Amenities within rooms are outdated and in disrepair (broken outlets, leaky toilets, clogged showers) and the whole facility creaks during windstorms as heard from the 4th floor. If you can look past the facility portion and utilize the hotel for what it is (a sleeping quarters), there is a great value in it. Otherwise, there are likely some better options in the greater Groton area to stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Levi R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This was our second stay at this hotel and the primary reason for staying again was the hotel bar and restaurant and the breakfast that was included! Also, the convenience of the shuttle to Mohegan Sun. The staff in all areas were great. The beds were comfortable and the hotel also had a pool and fitness room which we didn't have time to use, but we love that we could have if time allowed.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rhonda A. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews