We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1 night anniversary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Haven, CT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great 1 night anniversary stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed 1 night...this Marriott is a hidden gem. I had a meeting here for works a few weeks ago and stumbled upon it...completely new and updated - lobby is spotless. It's actually in Groton, CT about a 10 min drive from Mystic. We stayed on rewards points, but I called prior to our stay to let the manager know it was our anniversary. It was noted in our file, and staff said "happy anniversary". They also upgraded us from a standard room to a King Suite and when we left for lunch, we came back to a note from the manager, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries - very nice touch and exactly why I'm a Marriott Rewards Customer.

We also did a couples massage @ the Red Door Spa - spa was nice, treatments we good. Not the best we've ever had and a little pricey, but since we got the room on points, we speant the $ here.

Only reason why I'm not giving 5 starts is:

1. Its right off I-95 and I'm a fairly sound sleeper, BUT you can hear the traffic (trucks, sirens, etc.).

2. The locker room @ least on the men's side was a little out dated and there was mold / old tiles in the steam room.

However, I'd sty here again and recommend it. Maybe next time just stay on the opposite of the hotel as the side facing the highway.

Room Tip: Stay on side opposite I-95
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    312
    127
    58
    30
See reviews for
235
278
23
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family stayed one night at the Mystic Marriott and it was a wonderful hotel. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. We were upgraded to a double with Queen beds and I found the room to be more cramped than the pictures showed, but it was still nice. There was no minibar in the room, which was probably a good thing with kids who touch everything. The only complaint my husband and I had was how uncomfortable the pillows were, both feather and regular. But, your pillow at home is always more comfortable, right? The pool and hot tub weren't busy at all, allowing my children to play and have fun without getting in the way of others. All the attractions in Mystic were a five to ten minute drive away. Didn't try room service or the restaurant downstairs, but it looked very nice and was open for Brunch on Sunday. The line for Starbucks can get very long, so get there early! All in all, a very nice hotel for business and families alike!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_accardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here when we visited my daughter t college. It was a great hotel, comfortable beds, and great pool. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the river. Great Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pellhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I like this hotel and stayed there many times for business. However, recently I experienced troubles with the room service.
A couple of months ago, I stayed for 2 nights. The first morning I had my breakfast delivered without problems. On the second night, the card for ordering room service breakfast wasn't provided. I phoned up the room service and ordered my breakfast for next morning - the order I placed was exactly the same as the previous night. In the morning, the wrong order was delivered. After I complained, they delivered my breakfast, but the amount of food was about a third of what was provided the first morning! Very disappointing.
Last month I visited again, and had an even worse experience. I stayed for one night only. My room service breakfast order was wrong again and had to be sent back. This is always frustrating as I am often in a rush to get to my meetings on time. When the correct order finally arrived, there was a hair on the napkin. Then there was another, large, black hair inside my ommelet. This was a bit too much for a $30 breakfast. I phoned and complained. Thankfully, staff were very understanding and took the charge off my bill.
I love the Octagon and the hotel bar - the reception staff are usually very friendly - but the room service has a lot of room for improvement!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Principessa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Family stayed here on a trip up to Boston. Its right off the 95, clean and very functional. Kids loved the pool, and the breakfast was good. It was easy to get into Mystic to go to the ship yard and Sea Port. Got a reasonable price and no complaints

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoMoreStatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
6.0 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
5.5 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,053 reviews
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
28.6 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
5.0 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Groton
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing