We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in town”
Review of L'escale

L'escale
Reserve with OpenTable
L'escale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 172 Restaurants in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Steamboat & Arch
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The food is fantastic here! I love the lunch menu and they switch it up for each season. My favorite salad is the one with the pomegranates in it. My favorite dinner is Chicken. As for the desserts.... they’re all amazing! Highly recommend this restaurant. It’s my go to!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank kysae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018

The restaurant is on an inlet near Greenwich harbor and both the inside dining room and outside dining area are lovely places to sit. We have eaten there many times and have always enjoyed our lunches and dinners. This is an elegant restaurant and one would expect very attentive service. Unfortunately, that was not the case on a recent Friday evening. Several times we had to wave down staff to get any attention. The bottle of wine we ordered finally arrived more than 15 minutes after the others at the table had received their drinks we no apologies. We brought guests to introduce them to one of the nicer restaurants in town, and we were actually quite embarrassed. I am not sure we will return.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PCGfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

While staying at the adjoining Delamar Hotel, we took in dinner here a few times during our stay. The restaurant is clearly divided into indoor and outdoor seating areas.

Being late summer, we were quite keen to sit outside. Here, we found the front-of-house staff quite surly. They refused to allow us to make a booking as all tables outside were without reservation. However, they also refused to let us sit outside as all the tables were "already taken." When pressed as to how so many tables - with no patrons and no reservations - could be taken, the assistant got quite surly. We thus resigned ourselves to sitting inside.

I found the menu a little limiting - a wider selection of fish and/or meat would have been quite useful. However, all dishes were excellent when I finally settled on something. The wine menu is excellent - it excels far beyond the food menu.

It's unfortunate that the service at the front desk detracts from what could be an amazing dining experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrantH398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

More for special days, great for girls time out, never had a bad experience in any kind and when it comes to food I am officially the picky one

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hozanas708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived a bit late to reservation due to late arriving flight at Teterboro. No problem, restaurant accommodated our late group and we provided excellent service to the group (15).

Goat cheese salad and Salmon entree were prepared perfectly and plated nicely. Everyone commented on quality of food and beauty of venue staff were great-attentive without interrupting flow of conversation. Accomplished wine list available as well. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lbhk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'escale also viewed

 

Been to L'escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing