We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place”

Moffat Tunnel West Portal
Ranked #7 of 11 things to do in Winter Park
Type: Other
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Family found a trail up to the tunnel. Looks like a neat piece of history. Took some nice photos around the area. Kept nice and clean.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 731angym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coal trains"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"shops and restaurants"
in 2 reviews
"historic"
in 7 reviews
"history"
in 7 reviews
"denver"
in 7 reviews
"fascinated"
in 2 reviews
"winter"
in 12 reviews
"park"
in 12 reviews
"snow"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We took the Ski train up to Winter Park to ski for the day. We took our little granddaughters who had an absolute blast! The train is wonderful. The scenery is amazing. It's the easiest way to go!
We would recommend it for everyone. Very very enjoyable!

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank popsmcgops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This is an interesting historic site, and its fun to see the train pop out if you are there at the right time. You can look it up online and read about how it got here. It truly was an engineering marvel for its time.
If you are able, take the train up from Denver. Its goes through some gorgeous mountain scenery, and is an enjoyable trip. Check the schedule-it doesn't run all the time.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

If you are out and about in Winter Park check out the Moffat Tunnel, we came upon it my accident while looking for somewhere to go, it was nice to see, we walked around for awhile and there were even some trains on the tracks when we got there. So it is a must see if you are visiting.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank ttalley98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

The Moffat Tunnel has a great story and is interesting to go up to the entrance and see. You can walk right up to it from The Village at Winter Park.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Leann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moffat Tunnel West Portal also viewed

Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Been to Moffat Tunnel West Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing