We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among The few Really Special Restaurants”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Reserve with OpenTable
The Left Bank is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 130 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: International Bridge
Description: Left Bank Restaurant is a fine-dining staple bringing authentic French cuisine to the heart of Vail Village. Come dine in style!
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We have been to many of the top restaurants in the country. All are worthy of high praise for a variety of reasons. The Left Bank is among the top in our list. First the food. It's excellent! My wife had the Vol au Vent de Homard which I had on a previous visit. It's a unique combination you won't find anywhere else. And is it ever good! I had the Steak au Poivre Blanc. Filets are available just about everywhere. But, the cognac cream sauce makes this selection very special. Second the service. Brian did a very fine job. LIke other staff members we encountered here he was friendly, informative, and conscientious performing his duties. Third the settings and ambiance. The furnishings are very rich, comfortable, and beautiful to see. Nothing artificial. Nothing is overdone. You can tell it was designed by someone who has very refined taste. And yet the feel of the room is one of comfort and fit without the stuffiness you might find sometimes in a fine dining location. Putting it altogether our meal there was an experience we look forward to repeating again. Our rating is based on fine dining to be a multi faceted special experience. If you do the same you won't be disappointed at the Left Bank.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Binge827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel C, Owner at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

It feels good to be at the top! It's awesome our steaks went above and beyond your expectations -- I'm so happy to hear our attention to detail impressed you. Thank you for your kind words about our service, too -- we'll be sure to share them with Brian and the rest of our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,
Jean-Michel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I have eaten at the Left Bank many times over the years. I recently returned after a four year absence. Food and service were great. I had the rack of lamb for two. It was as good as I’ve ever had...if not better. I certainly would recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience and wonderful food.

Thank Lanbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel C, Owner at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

T^hank you for the excellent feedback, Lanbro! It is wonderful you've been a fan all these years. It is always a delight seeing you in the restaurant! I look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

All the best,
Jean-Michel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Excellent French cuisine! Quality of food and staff are high, meals are generally without gluten and any dietary needs can be readily answered. Lighthearted but professional staff, excellent wine list, knowledgeable sommelier. Will go again next visit!

Thank anniewalks15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel C, Owner at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Excellent guests too, Annie -- thank you for being one of them. We're always more than happy to work with you when dietary restrictions are in the picture. We're looking forward to your next visit!

'Til then,
Jean-Michel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Consistently great dining with a French flair. The steak tartar is perfect; the onion soup a little too thin for my taste, but with plenty of cheese on top. Main courses are beautifully presented but quite pricy. The Iles Flottant for dessert is delicous, but with an unusual presentation. The "islands" are NOT floating in the cream sauce, but instead sit next to it--perfect for dipping.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruhskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel C, Owner at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

That means the world to us, Ruhskis. We're looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Regards,
Jean-Michel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Our family has been coming to the Left Bank for decades. The current owners who took over a few years ago have made some huge changes in decor and some of the menu, but thankfully they have left some of the classics intact....in particular the souffle! You must order either the chocolate or grand mariner souffle for dessert. Great wines, delicious food and usually attentive service. A perfect place for a special occasion, a family meal or a romantic dinner for a couple.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel C, Owner at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're extremely appreciative of your support and are looking forward to seeing you next time!

Very best,
Jean-Michel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing