We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
14
22
13
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
22
13
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaily activitiesfull size refrigeratoranother guestlaundry roomgore creekfamily vacationhot tubgreat place to stayshuttlebedroomunitsfireplacetubslionsheadmaintenanceroomyfreeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed at the Birch building of Marriott Streamside in August and I was a little concerned after reading the previous reviews but I found that the rooms were newly furnished and updated. Flat screens in every room, kitchen and bathrooms updated and a full line up of cable channels which if you have young children can be important. It is only a few minute drive to Vail Village and in the summer it is free to park at the village. There is a shuttle but we did not use because of the free parking. There is a Safeway about 1 minute away as well as some small eateries. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Note that this building is one of five that USED TO BE managed by Marriott. Cedar is no longer managed by Marriott and it is obviously due to the fact that they would not step up to the standards required. We needed to negotiate 75 stairs to our room (over 90 for the higher floor) with ski eq't and large bags. A catwalk from the clubhouse can save half the stairs, but you still need to cross on potential ice, through darkness at night, and open and shut difficult doors.

The rooms have not been upgraded in many many years and the mattresses were pathetic. And the bedding was absolutely intolerable. NO JOKE - BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS!

On the positive side, the personnel were very nice and helpful as possible, the new clubhouse (with fitness center and pool) are excellent, as they were shared with the Marriott buildings. The location and shuttle service to Vail were well-run (again shared services).

In all, if you are young and/or the price is right, this resort building may be fine for you. If you care about staying in a quality resort room and/or your back is not in tip-top shape, I would think twice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dubious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We originally booked into the Aspen block four years back, and then bought a timeshare unit on eBay dirt cheap for Week 8 in the BIrch building every year.

Bear in mind that these units are worked hard by skiers and boarders in the winter, and bikers and hikers all summer and they actually stand up quite well. They're not to the usual Marriott Vacation Club five star standard, but then you're probably not looking for somewhere like that if you book into West Vail.

The units are smaller than the Marriott standard sizes, with the one beds being around 860 square feet. They have two queen beds in a single bedroom, with a small kitchenette and a bath/shower room. The rest is an open living/dining area - table, chairs, breakfast bar, sofa, coffee tables, large TV, open gas fire in the corner and a small balcony to admire your icicles.

In 2008 the Birch units are being upgraded by Marriott to have new furnishings, tiles, plasma TVs etc. This refresh should give them a new lease of life. Don't get me wrong, they're fine, but they're more functional than the last word in luxury. At twenty years old, very few of us looked as good as when we first came into the world.

The clubhouse - which is shared by all five buildings - was refurbed in 2007 and looks good. There's a fine kid/teen area with free Nintendo Wii replacing the slots in spring 2008. The decks been rebuilt and the pool cleaned up. the reception is now very Marriott, and best of all, there's a fitness centre stuffed full of top-of-the-range machines. No bar or restaurant, bit as they point out, nobody would use them even if they had them.

Face facts here - no one goes to this end of Vail for straight luxury. You go because the snow, golf and fishing are great and the mountain's extensive. What you want is somewhere, comfortable and secure to stay - and that's what Birch offers.

Reviewers who say there's nothing around the area obviously never took the two minute walk under the I-70 to Bagalli's Italian Kitchen, the Westside Grill or the Sandbar Sports Bar. The Sandbar is probably the best proper sports bar in Vail (rather than just a bar with TVs in every corner) after Garfinkels in Lionshead .

Anyway, the Marriott lay on a shuttle bus to the slopes FOC every ten minutes during peak times, and in the evenings it's every half hour to either Lionshead centre (Vail's new dawn) or Vail Village. As a service, it's brilliant - no drink-drive fears, friendly and reliable to the minute.

Birch - unpretentious, decent pricing, the right size and service. It's my kind of place.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank The_Demon_Barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Our family of five stayed at Marriott's Streamside at Vail over President's week in February. We are owners at another Marriott Vacation Club timeshare property and traded our two bedroom unit for a one bedroom/one bathroom unit during the highly demanded President’s week through Interval International. We were placed in the Birch building, room 2205 which faced Gore creek.

The one bedroom unit felt cramped for our family of 2 adults and 3 small children. The bedroom held 2 queen beds and the living room provided additional sleeping on a full sized sofa bed. However, it was inconvenient to make up and fold away the sofa bed each day. We would have been better accommodated in a two bedroom unit. Having to use the living room as a bedroom really left no place for that person to store their clothing and other personal belongings as the bedroom didn’t provide enough storage for the whole family.

The unit was compact but conveniently arranged. The main room was the living room, dining room and kitchen. The living room provided seating only on a leather sofa facing a TV in an armoire. Next to it was a dining table with seating for 6. The kitchen was tiny but provided everything we needed. It had a breakfast bar with seating for 2 and the kitchen was stocked with dishes for 8.

We spent a lot of time in our condo unit as our youngest child became ill during the trip, so we used the property and its amenities more than we intended to. We cooked all meals in the unit and had no complaints about the small but efficient and well equipped kitchen. It had all the pots, pans and dishes plus more than I could use in one week. There was a full sized fridge, stove, dishwasher, blender and microwave oven. There were lots of dishes and serving ware. Also, there were additional storage containers and even dishes for baking and a hand held mixer.

We did not see any welcome events on the activities sheet even though we were there 7 days. We did partake in some of the kids MAZE activities because we were spending more time than we planned at the condo. Because it was ski week, our kids were the only ones at the planned activities. There were nominal fees for the craft activities.

The location of the buildings was about 2 miles from Vail village, but the property offered a very convenient shuttle service to the Lionshead Village where Eagle Bahn Gondola is located and the village proper in the evenings. The service was excellent and we used it daily. What we didn’t like about the location that though it was picturesque being on Gore creek, it was also very close to I-70 which gets pretty heavy traffic day and night. Because the unit was quite warm, we needed to keep the windows open a crack, but were then bothered by the highway noise.

There are 5 buildings which make up the property. They are Aspen, Birch, Cedar, Douglas and Evergreen. However, Marriott manages only Birch, Douglas and Evergreen buildings while Aspen and Cedar buildings are managed by Vacation Resorts International. All the buildings share the same amenities and you don’t really know there are two companies managing the same property until check in. The clubhouse, which doubles as the main lobby, houses two registration desks. It is also where the indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs, steam room, sauna, game room, lounge and kids area are located. The building was recently renovated, but the pool area seems to be really lacking. It certainly didn’t look recently renovated, and while we were there, during one of the busiest weeks of the year, all of the hot tubs were not working. Also, part of the week the steam room was inoperable.

Overall, we found the property to be adequate for our needs, and the beautiful Vail Valley certainly exceeded our expectations of natural beauty. Add in the fantastic snow we experienced and even though our youngest got sick, it still added up to a great week in the snow.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jlp879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

There are positives and negatives. On the plus side, it seems that they will be updating the furniture and window treatments at the end of the year. Also, the shuttle is very convenient and runs very frequently. Also, there is free laundry in each building, just bring your soap suds. Also on the plus side is that there is a nice but small indoor pool with a swim out, but for some reason you can only use half the outdoor pool (the cover is on the rest of it) and the inside of the area where the indoor pool is could use a bit of sprucing up. Plus both hot tubs don't work and haven't worked for the past week. On the negative side the units are old and dusty and definitely need updating. If you come to vail be prepared for the altitude. It is really hard.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank doctoradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews