We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but too close to the Interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place, but too close to the Interstate”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The 1 bedroom unit we had was spotless and up to date. There is a full kitchen and a gas fireplace in the living room. Our unit also had a balcony. The property is well taken care of with a nice pool and exercise room.

It is well situated and within easy walking distance of a Safeway and several excellent but moderately priced restaurants.

My only complaint is highway noise from Interstate 70 which was about 150 feet from our windows. In the summer the rooms can get warm and you need to open the windows as there is no airconditioning. However, the sound of trucks, etc. driving by is disturbing.

I imagine in the winter it is not a problem as you would probably keep the windows closed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed at the Birch building of Marriott Streamside in August and I was a little concerned after reading the previous reviews but I found that the rooms were newly furnished and updated. Flat screens in every room, kitchen and bathrooms updated and a full line up of cable channels which if you have young children can be important. It is only a few minute drive to Vail Village and in the summer it is free to park at the village. There is a shuttle but we did not use because of the free parking. There is a Safeway about 1 minute away as well as some small eateries. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Note that this building is one of five that USED TO BE managed by Marriott. Cedar is no longer managed by Marriott and it is obviously due to the fact that they would not step up to the standards required. We needed to negotiate 75 stairs to our room (over 90 for the higher floor) with ski eq't and large bags. A catwalk from the clubhouse can save half the stairs, but you still need to cross on potential ice, through darkness at night, and open and shut difficult doors.

The rooms have not been upgraded in many many years and the mattresses were pathetic. And the bedding was absolutely intolerable. NO JOKE - BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS!

On the positive side, the personnel were very nice and helpful as possible, the new clubhouse (with fitness center and pool) are excellent, as they were shared with the Marriott buildings. The location and shuttle service to Vail were well-run (again shared services).

In all, if you are young and/or the price is right, this resort building may be fine for you. If you care about staying in a quality resort room and/or your back is not in tip-top shape, I would think twice.

  • Liked — New fitness club and shuttle service.
  • Disliked — Room upkeep, bedding.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dubious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vail hotels

Norwich, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We originally booked into the Aspen block four years back, and then bought a timeshare unit on eBay dirt cheap for Week 8 in the BIrch building every year.

Bear in mind that these units are worked hard by skiers and boarders in the winter, and bikers and hikers all summer and they actually stand up quite well. They're not to the usual Marriott Vacation Club five star standard, but then you're probably not looking for somewhere like that if you book into West Vail.

The units are smaller than the Marriott standard sizes, with the one beds being around 860 square feet. They have two queen beds in a single bedroom, with a small kitchenette and a bath/shower room. The rest is an open living/dining area - table, chairs, breakfast bar, sofa, coffee tables, large TV, open gas fire in the corner and a small balcony to admire your icicles.

In 2008 the Birch units are being upgraded by Marriott to have new furnishings, tiles, plasma TVs etc. This refresh should give them a new lease of life. Don't get me wrong, they're fine, but they're more functional than the last word in luxury. At twenty years old, very few of us looked as good as when we first came into the world.

The clubhouse - which is shared by all five buildings - was refurbed in 2007 and looks good. There's a fine kid/teen area with free Nintendo Wii replacing the slots in spring 2008. The decks been rebuilt and the pool cleaned up. the reception is now very Marriott, and best of all, there's a fitness centre stuffed full of top-of-the-range machines. No bar or restaurant, bit as they point out, nobody would use them even if they had them.

Face facts here - no one goes to this end of Vail for straight luxury. You go because the snow, golf and fishing are great and the mountain's extensive. What you want is somewhere, comfortable and secure to stay - and that's what Birch offers.

Reviewers who say there's nothing around the area obviously never took the two minute walk under the I-70 to Bagalli's Italian Kitchen, the Westside Grill or the Sandbar Sports Bar. The Sandbar is probably the best proper sports bar in Vail (rather than just a bar with TVs in every corner) after Garfinkels in Lionshead .

Anyway, the Marriott lay on a shuttle bus to the slopes FOC every ten minutes during peak times, and in the evenings it's every half hour to either Lionshead centre (Vail's new dawn) or Vail Village. As a service, it's brilliant - no drink-drive fears, friendly and reliable to the minute.

Birch - unpretentious, decent pricing, the right size and service. It's my kind of place.

  • Liked — Free shuttle to town, value, comfortable and secure
  • Disliked — 2008 refurb should brighten the place up closer to usual Marriott standard
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Demon_Barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Our family of five stayed at Marriott's Streamside at Vail over President's week in February. We are owners at another Marriott Vacation Club timeshare property and traded our two bedroom unit for a one bedroom/one bathroom unit during the highly demanded President’s week through Interval International. We were placed in the Birch building, room 2205 which faced Gore creek.

The one bedroom unit felt cramped for our family of 2 adults and 3 small children. The bedroom held 2 queen beds and the living room provided additional sleeping on a full sized sofa bed. However, it was inconvenient to make up and fold away the sofa bed each day. We would have been better accommodated in a two bedroom unit. Having to use the living room as a bedroom really left no place for that person to store their clothing and other personal belongings as the bedroom didn’t provide enough storage for the whole family.

The unit was compact but conveniently arranged. The main room was the living room, dining room and kitchen. The living room provided seating only on a leather sofa facing a TV in an armoire. Next to it was a dining table with seating for 6. The kitchen was tiny but provided everything we needed. It had a breakfast bar with seating for 2 and the kitchen was stocked with dishes for 8.

We spent a lot of time in our condo unit as our youngest child became ill during the trip, so we used the property and its amenities more than we intended to. We cooked all meals in the unit and had no complaints about the small but efficient and well equipped kitchen. It had all the pots, pans and dishes plus more than I could use in one week. There was a full sized fridge, stove, dishwasher, blender and microwave oven. There were lots of dishes and serving ware. Also, there were additional storage containers and even dishes for baking and a hand held mixer.

We did not see any welcome events on the activities sheet even though we were there 7 days. We did partake in some of the kids MAZE activities because we were spending more time than we planned at the condo. Because it was ski week, our kids were the only ones at the planned activities. There were nominal fees for the craft activities.

The location of the buildings was about 2 miles from Vail village, but the property offered a very convenient shuttle service to the Lionshead Village where Eagle Bahn Gondola is located and the village proper in the evenings. The service was excellent and we used it daily. What we didn’t like about the location that though it was picturesque being on Gore creek, it was also very close to I-70 which gets pretty heavy traffic day and night. Because the unit was quite warm, we needed to keep the windows open a crack, but were then bothered by the highway noise.

There are 5 buildings which make up the property. They are Aspen, Birch, Cedar, Douglas and Evergreen. However, Marriott manages only Birch, Douglas and Evergreen buildings while Aspen and Cedar buildings are managed by Vacation Resorts International. All the buildings share the same amenities and you don’t really know there are two companies managing the same property until check in. The clubhouse, which doubles as the main lobby, houses two registration desks. It is also where the indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs, steam room, sauna, game room, lounge and kids area are located. The building was recently renovated, but the pool area seems to be really lacking. It certainly didn’t look recently renovated, and while we were there, during one of the busiest weeks of the year, all of the hot tubs were not working. Also, part of the week the steam room was inoperable.

Overall, we found the property to be adequate for our needs, and the beautiful Vail Valley certainly exceeded our expectations of natural beauty. Add in the fantastic snow we experienced and even though our youngest got sick, it still added up to a great week in the snow.

  • Liked — Good value for what you got.
  • Disliked — It felt cramped.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jlp879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.0 km away
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
0.2 km away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
4.3 km away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
316 reviews
4.6 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
604 reviews
4.4 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail

Property: Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Address: 2284 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4389
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail is the perfect Colorado retreat. Tucked neatly in Vail, Colorado, our rooms are accented by the cool breezes throughout our picturesque Vail resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Birch At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Birch Vail
Marriott Vail
Marriott Vacation Club Vail
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing