We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvement”
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

I so wanted to love this motel, but early on felt somewhat disappointed that there are negatives with what should have been an idyllic place to stay. The location is great, just to the north of the Downtown area, and next to the river. I reserved a riverside room, and after collecting the keys from reception, parked up outside the accommodation. First impressions - dark brown and sepia tones dominate the buildings exteriors, which continues in the rooms, hardly inspiring. The river view from the balcony was there, but having to look through rows of trees really restricted the supposed calming flow of an adjacent river. Our room was comfortable enough, but it certainly needs a makeover to bring it up to high standards insisted by many other hotels. This is more evident in the breakfast room, again well past its' prime. Breakfast choices seem limited, and the horrible plastic cereal dispensers need to go. The walls are covered with local accolades of achievements awarded to the motel, but they stretch back years and don't relate to the current presentation of the property. Perhaps I appear to be a little unfair with my comments, particularly seeing so many positive reviews on TA, but it is my honest perception of Rabbit Ears. A bit of renovation and modernisation would work wonders here, and really would make it stand out as the place to stay in Steamboat Springs.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms, but not many have decent views. Lots of trees behind the buildings impact on what c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We take your opinion to heart and value your feedback. We have currently renovated all of the bathrooms and continue to replace carpeting, window treatments and bedding. Please consider us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here based on recommendations of family and reviews on Trip Advisor, but were a bit disappointed. We thought we could get a room on the river for $119 based on the website, but when we arrived , we found that a riverside room was$159 plus tax. Our room had two queen beds and two twins in it and was very crowded. There was no place to sit down. We could see and hear the river, which was nice. We never got to try breakfast, so I can't comment on that. The location is nice as you can walk to downtown, but is also very noisy and busy.
Our stay was not worth $179. No pool or hot tub.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank northwoodsgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We are directly across the street from Old Town Hot Springs and offer discounted admission to our guests. Sorry you weren't able to take advantage of it. Our prices do vary seasonally to stay competitive and offer value. Please sign up for our newsletter on our website to stay apprised of seasonal packages and $119 rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My family and i travel to steamboat every summer and stay at the rabbit ears! It is a wonderful friendly family location. The ladies at the front desk now recognize us and are always welcoming and very helpful. The accommodations are spacious and cost effective. We always stay on the back of the property beside the Yampa which is just beautiful. The morning breakfast buffet hits the spot and the hot springs pool across the street cannot be beat for relaxation. 5 stars for the Rabbit Ears from the family from Virginia!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lindalumps65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you to much! We value your business and cherish your kind words. We hope you'll come stay again on your next visit to Steamboat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

I booked this room because of the reviews. We were not disappointed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a decent breakfast. We were able to walk to restaurants. It was very affordable. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 395marshalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you so much. This is an amazing review. We are so appreciative of your feedback and hope to see you on your next visit to Steamboat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I always stay at the Rabbit Ears and usually love it but this trip was a bummer.
I paid extra for a river view and had the guy in the next room out on his deck smoking and the guy 3 doors down also smoking, it was impossible to sit on the balcony and enjoy the river. I had relatives in town and said how great it was and that ruined their experience. we left our patio door open to go to town and had a smoking room when we got back - management said they would talk to them but didn't seem to care.
will probably look for a new place in steamboat for future stays

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank pinky3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Oh NO! We do not allow smoking, and we take it very seriously we would never want to lose your business because another guest broke the rules. We do our very best to enforce this and hope you'll continue to think of us as a place you love to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
3.2 km away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
679 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
195 reviews
4.1 km away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
841 reviews
3.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
238 reviews
3.4 km away
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
Sheraton Steamboat Resort Villas
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: €79 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing