We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but nice...”
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rabbit Ears Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My wife and I stayed one night here a week ago. (July 2017) It's an average Motel experience. Clean room and the bed was comfortable. Nice shower and bath amenities. The free breakfast wasn't much to write home about. Not many choices for things to eat. The place is in walking distance to many downtown stores and restaurants and a stones throw from the river. For a spendy town like Steamboat this is a good place for the dollar.

Room Tip: all rooms pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks for the review Bill. We are an iconic downtown property, and constantly invest in updates. We've renovated all of the bathrooms, added new drapery, bedding and carpeting. It's really important to us to stay modern. Please consider us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Rabbit Ears is an iconic motel in Steamboat Springs, CO. It is located at the 1st stoplight for the town so is easy walking distance to all of the town shops, restaurants, bars, rodeo arena, and ski jump hill as well as right across from the Hot Springs. They are also right next to a park that has a great place for putting in your float if you're tubing the river. They offer standard rooms with an assortment of bedding - we stayed in a king room that had a balcony overlooking the Yampa river. Each room provides a hair dryer, microwave, small coffee pot, small refrigerator and air conditioning which comes in quite handy during July. The staff is friendly, the continental breakfast is a great convenience, housekeeping is spotless. We really enjoyed our stay. If you are going to be there during the ski season, they don't offer a shuttle to the mountain, however the free city bus stops right in front of the hotel and operates very frequently. They are renovating the motel so all rooms will be updated very soon. Pets are allowed for an additional $20 per night but may not be left alone in the room at any time. Recommend this for families and those wanting a convenient in town place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 132 and was on the ground floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redhead31768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Wow! Thanks so much! I can't tell you how much we appreciate your amazing 5 star review. You touched on so many of our strengths. Location, updates and amenities, friendly staff. We value your business and hope you'll join us again on your next visit to Steamboat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a luxury condo to hang out in, get me. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay in Steamboat Springs while you enjoy the many wonderful things the town has to offer, stay at the Rabbit Ears. It is a venerable, family-run business that has been a mainstay of Steamboat for generations, while many luxury places have come and gone. The people who run the hotel are friendly and helpful, their "continental breakfast" is much better than most, and the shower is magically wonderful. We plan to buy that brand of showerhead when we get home. And they even offer discounted passes to the fantastic municipal hot spring pool complex which is right across the street. So, unless you need extravagant luxury, stay at the Rabbit Ears and use the money you saved to enjoy more of what Steamboat has to offer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks Michael! We love those Speakman shower heads too! One of many upgrades we've added to the property the past year. We value your business and appreciate the kind and thorough review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Even though it is an older motel, the rooms have been remodeled and my stay was better than expected. Lots of rafters floating down the Yampa River right behind the motel and an easy walk to the rodeo and all the downtown stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Golfguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks for the kind review. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Our stay was just one night, but it was very nice! The rooms are simple and clean, bed was comfy, nothing fancy, but had a mini fridge and microwave! We asked for a room with a balcony on the river! Front desk people were nice and helpful! Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregkoe, Owner at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks Jennifer! We pride ourselves on offering clean, modern, affordable accommodations with a retro flair! We value your business and appreciate the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
3.2 km away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
688 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
198 reviews
1 km away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
241 reviews
4.1 km away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#11 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
4 km away
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
La Quinta Inn Steamboat Springs
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Address: 201 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: €76 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price. The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing