We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice quiet summer bargain.”
Review of Laurelwood Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laurelwood Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location, nice quiet summer bargain.”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed the week of the Aspen Food & Wine Classic (a blast) working and volunteering. Enjoyed the location, but next time would choose upper floor, as if I wanted privacy, I had to keep the curtains closed which made it a bit claustrophobic, although, outside was so quiet, people rarely walked by - but a sidewalk was just outside my window, and no privacy sheer shades.
For 5 nights, I had the large hot tub (choice of 2) to myself while hubby worked nights. It was just that quiet in mid-June.
We stayed in unit 201 which was remodeled with granite countertops and new tile, but the chairs could surely use a steam clean and the sliding divider between the main room and the "bedroom" (it was a studio) was broken - it turned out to work fine, as the broken part allowed us to keep it open, but block the view from the open window/door to the bed area. (Thus, a pro and a con.)
Nice large, fully stocked kitchen, but please, somebody bring a knife sharpener! Upgraded bathroom.
Bed sheets were horrible, pilled, lumpy. Need to return them as flawed and get new sheets. We asked for replacements, and they were a bit better, but still pilled and not smooth/soft at all.
Convenient to Snowmass Village and I enjoyed many walks to town and around the ski area hill, enjoying the lilacs and other flowers.
Yes, the hike from town to the condo is steep, but, hey, it's Colorado and on a mountain! And, yes, free, unlimited world-wide phone calls from the room.
Not a lot of stores open in the mall yet, (off season) but enough restaurants to keep us satisfied - we also had our own food in our kitchen. There's a little store on the R hand side of the liqour store in the mall that had emergency supplies (sugar, coffee, etc) - but it's not very obvious - if you don't want to drive to the grocery store at the entrance to the village, keep this place in mind in the mall, just 2 1/2 blocks from the condo.
When we asked for maid service (emergency - needed it in a one hour window between me getting up and hubby coming back from night shift and needing to sleep) - it never happened as promised. Thus, we used maid service all of 10 minutes in 5 days to change bed from lumpy sheets to "slightly less lumpy" sheets.
Would stay again.
With a pull-out couch, could be a bargain ski-in, ski-out with another couple, but assume rates are significantly higher during ski season. And, agree with another reviewer that IF you had the parking-lot side room, AND you were blessed in winter with fresh snow for skiing, that yes, then, it could be noisy while they plow the parking lot, acrosss the street, early in the day.

Room Tip: For more privacy, avoid ground floor units. Slope-side in winter to avoid plow beep noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurelwoodCondos, General Manager at Laurelwood Studios, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have recently ordered new linens so on your next stay with us this will not be a problem. We hope to see you back. Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    58
    10
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
87
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at Laurelwood for three days...we chose newly renovated one bedroom condo...Room was very clean and nicely maintained..Kitchen had all vessels and importantly they all were pretty new...overall we were very satisfied...worth for amount we paid

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vin-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The studio condo was very nice, but I feel obligated to report a negative incident when checking out: I was having my airline boarding pass faxed to me at the management office. The gentleman at the office informed me that "there was a $1 charge per page". I felt after paying about $100/day for the room, that this was very petty (especially given the fact that the phone in the unit had been out of service for the 3 days I was there, and I had been very understanding about this). There are many other alternatives available in Snowmass, and I would probably not return as a result of this pettiness by the management office.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurelwoodCondos, General Manager at Laurelwood Studios, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We have eliminated the $1.00 a page for any incoming faxes and for next time we do allow our guest to print boarding passes using the office equipment. We appreciate all feedback, so thank you for your time in writing the review. We hope to see you back.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The fireplaces in these units are a health hazard, and smoke out the units when it gets cold!
They called this inversion, I call it really bad management!

This place has made me ill.....The fireplaces smoke out the building, and the manager refused to ask people to put the fires out until I became really ill, which was too late. I developed asthma and bronchitis, which I have never had before!
The management has been less than helpful, eventually requesting no fires be lit for a day or so, and reduced one nights tarriff, but failed to assist in paying for my medical fees, which have been substantial. (I am still recovering a few months later.)

The bed linen was also terrible , worn and all balled and difficult to sleep in.

Location is good, but its not worth staying here. Your health is too important!. I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cococoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurelwoodCondos, General Manager at Laurelwood Studios, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We do have wood burning fireplaces in all our studio units. We experienced abnormal weather patterns last winter that did create some smoke inversion. This past spring we have had several professionals look at resolving the issue. We care very much about our guests and owners health and safety. When you made us aware of the situation we immediately placed a no burn policy and we did offer to move you and all your unpacked belongings while you were skiing the next day. We feel we did everything we could to try and make your stay an enjoyable experience. Unfortunately, we cannot control the atmosphere conditions but are certainly resolving the issue for the next winter season. We hope to see you back.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband and I stayed in Unit 108 and loved the decor and the spaciousness--for a studio. We could walk to restaurants in less than two minutes; a pizza was delivered within 20 minutes; we could ski right from the property. Very nice laundry facility. Courteous staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.2 km away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
776 reviews
0.4 km away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#1 of 13 in Snowmass Village
557 reviews
11.7 km away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#7 of 13 in Snowmass Village
165 reviews
10.8 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
901 reviews
0.1 km away
Aspenwood
Aspenwood
#6 of 23 in Snowmass Village
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Studios

Property: Laurelwood Studios
Address: 640 Upper Carriage Way, PO Box 5600, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurelwood Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LAURELWOOD offers spacious, recently updated ski-in/ski-out condominium suites. Each individually owned and decorated suite has a private balcony or patio with an electric barbeque grill, wood-burning fireplace and full kitchen. The 540-square-foot studios accommodate up to four people comfortably. For privacy, a floor-to-ceiling partition wall can be pulled to enclose the bedroom, which features a queen-sized bed. Two doors to the bathroom - one from the bedroom, one from the living space enable greater privacy and convenience. Each studio also includes a queen sleeper sofa. Enjoy the convenience of free wireless internet, free worldwide calling and satellite television with multiple HBO channels. At the end of the day relax in our spectacular two-tier stone hot tubs. Available in premier or deluxe room types, our condominium suites are based on interior decor, regardless of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Laurelwood Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Studios Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing