We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disatisfied with a condo in Snowmass for the first time in more than a decade”
Review of Chamonix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chamonix
Reviewed 22 February 2015

My family and I have been traveling to Snowmass, CO, for 11 years now. We usually book through the Snowmass Lodging Company and never before had a bad surprise. This last January we were for the first time slightly dissatisfied.
We booked later than usual. There were not many 3-bedroom ski in/out units available in Snowmass. Actually, I believe this was the only one (now I know why). It was our first stay at Chamonix (in previous seasons we stayed at the Timberline, the Woodrun Place or the Enclave).
Chamonix is general as good as the other condos in terms of location and common facilities. Pretty comfortable and convenient indeed. Our unit 46, however, was old and outdated. I don't care so much for interior decoration in these relatively short ski trips, but some comfort is essential. The master bed mattress was completely beaten and worn-out. It had two concavities, one for each body, where my wife and I had to find a way to sleep for almost two weeks. And there's no way you can turn on your side; it takes rolling uphill and then be forced by gravity to roll back to the bottom. The master bedroom shower lacks water pressure, which takes away the pleasure of a hot, relaxing shower after ski. The TV sets are much too old and small. It would be great to have at least one full HD TV 50" or larger in the living room. Apart from that, the apartment is ok. And Chamonix in general seems to be a great choice if you are lucky enough to be placed in a decent unit. We were unlucky.

Room Tip: Snowmass Lodging Company does not seem to require standard decoration/equipment from unit owners. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed in #33 for 10 days and it was fantastic. The condo photos did not do it justice. Views were of the Elk Gondola run, ski in and out was terrific. Each bedroom had its own bathroom with tv's, kitchen was really well appointed, lounge was terrific and there was a reading area that looked out onto the Funnel run. Spa was right on the slopes and could be accessed as you came home from a day on the snow. Shuttle service was fantastic and made getting around very easy. I have been trying to think of a criticism and the only complaint would be the lack of a hairdryer which in the scheme of things is really clutching at straws. This was a great venue and we would definitely return and recommend this condo to anyone wanting space, comfort and direct access to the snow.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have gone to Aspen/Snowmass for the past 5 years and this is by far the best place for ski-in ski out. We Stayed at Woodrun V, and Woodrun Place, as well as Deerbrook Condos. While deerbrook was very convenient, without a rental car, getting around snowmass was a hassle. At Chamonix the free village shuttle drops off and picks up, as well as the local shuttle for Chamonix. We had process of elimination and stopped out searching each year when we found this place. We have 6 of us and we stay more than comfortably in the 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom A33. "A" building is by far the best because we are able to step into the hall, hit the elevator down to the locker room, get our gear, grab a grooming report and walk by the pool and hot-tube to the slopes (a 20 foot total walk outdoors before strapping on our gear). The condo itself is always stunning, with washer, dryer, in-cabinet dishwasher, unlimited wood on one of the two porches (one over slope, one over pool/slope), a wonderfully peaceful reading nook off the den. Whirlpool bath and steamshower in the master bedroom. We enjoy our stay here each year, and the front desk is always helpful. They allow us to print out our airline tickets before departing at the front desk, and they always are more than helpful with our UPSing our luggage there and making sure it is picked up and sent back to us.

Room Tip: Building A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JJayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed at the Chamonix condos in April 2009 for 8 nights. We had a 3 bedroom/3 bath condo. Each bedroom had their own bathroom. The condo was very clean and well decorated. The service we had at the front office and from housekeeping as great.

The ski in/ski out condo is in a great location it is right across from the Elk Camp Gondola (2nd stop). It worked out very well for our families. We enjoyed the hot tub and the ski lockers are very convenient.

We defnitely would stay at Chamonix again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our two bedroom condo in Snowmass Village! One bedroom had two bunk beds with an adjoining bath, the master a king sized bed with a bath. It had a beautifully appointed full kitchen with gorgeous granite countertops. The kitchen had everthing you need to enjoy homecooked meals in the condo, which we love to do to save some money while vacationing. There was a comfortable living room and separate dining room. And, of course, the views are amazing. We visited the pool, hottub, and workout room. All were nice. The front desk personnel were helpful and accommodating. The only drawback is the construction in the area, which woke me up one morning. The common areas are being remodeled, but we were never bothered by that during our stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DallasLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowmass Village
0.6 km away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
882 reviews
0.5 km away
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
Snowmass Mountain Chalet
#8 of 13 in Snowmass Village
175 reviews
10 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination Hotel
Stonebridge Inn, A Destination H...
#2 of 13 in Snowmass Village
663 reviews
10.8 km away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
570 reviews
10.5 km away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix

Address: 476 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Region: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range: €272 - €1,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamonix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chamonix is a ski-in, ski-out condominium complex on Assay Hill in Snowmass Village. These decorator designed condos have full kitchens, microwaves, washers/dryers, and complimentary internet access. On-site amenities include front desk, bell service, daily housekeeping, concierge, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, ski lockers, elevators and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chamonix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamonix Hotel Snowmass Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing