We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alli Rocks! ”

Independent Whitewater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Independent Whitewater is Salida's local river connection, we offer trips for all skill levels. Whether you’re scenic Salida floats, advanced whitewater rafting, or the longest half-day trip through Browns Canyon National Monument, we have a trip to fit your needs. Family-owned and operated, Independent Whitewater has been in business in Salida for 35 years and has a strong dedication to safety and good old-fashioned American fun. Come spend the day with Wiley and Mike, Independent Whitewater's owners, along with their highly trained and professional staff. Another great reason to raft with Independent Whitewater is that our Browns Canyon rafting trips end on private property, which means you'll beat the crowds and go through rapids that other rafting companies don't. More Miles, More Smiles! Give us a call today to schedule your trip!
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

First time to whitewater raft. Awesome experience! Alli was amazing. Evan was also great! Fabulous lunch. 8 people in our group. You won't regret rafting with Independent Whitewater!

Thank Catina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, Owner at Independent Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Catina, I'm happy to hear that you had a great time on the river! Thanks a ton for your support, and I hope we'll be seeing you again soon.
-Mike, Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brown's canyon"
in 70 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 39 reviews
"other companies"
in 23 reviews
"half day trip"
in 14 reviews
"the river"
in 97 reviews
"wet suits"
in 9 reviews
"these guys"
in 19 reviews
"great trip"
in 16 reviews
"great guide"
in 16 reviews
"small company"
in 4 reviews
"class rapids"
in 4 reviews
"raft guide"
in 4 reviews
"family float"
in 4 reviews
"great rafting experience"
in 4 reviews
"twin falls"
in 4 reviews
"white water"
in 7 reviews
"extra miles"
in 5 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

You get an extra two mile run with this trip and get to experience more rapids. There is a great camping area at the site with the Drift Inn that serves good food and drinks.

Thank ThomasJRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, Owner at Independent Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

More rapids are always a win! Thanks for joining us. I hope you'll hit the water again soon.
-Mike, Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Flint was our guide and was the best. He has great command of the boat as we did a full day of rafting through Royal Gorge. Lunch was excellent, the customer service was great and everything about our experience was top notch. We will definitely book with them again!

Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, Owner at Independent Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Michael, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us from the water to lunch! Thanks a ton for your feedback. We'll see you again sometime soon.
-Mike, Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

What a spectacular day! Joe provided excellent safety instructions which we seemed compelled to make sure we tried all of them. This company owns additional land so you get two more rapids than any other company on The Arkansas River. We were a party of six with a teenager amongst us and EVERYONE thoroughly enjoyed the 3 hour adventure down the river. Meghan was knowledgeable, clear in giving instructions and super fun when the business of maneuvering rapids was over. She took time to be interested in all of us while sharing some of her life adventures too. We laughed a lot. I highly recommend the Independent Whitewater experience.......in fact we are going to try to go back tomorrow!

Thank Lola_Knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, Owner at Independent Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

I'm so happy to hear that you had a spectacular visit with us! Thanks so much for your review. I hope you were able to join us again.
-Mike, Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd time returning to Indepedent whitewater. We came back bc the first time was awesome, our guides were pretty flipping fantastic, and amazing customer service. This time we did browns canyon with Evan. Such a great experience! It rained and was a little cold, but that is to be expected! Just get your wet suit and splash jacket and you will be just fine :) highly recommend this company! It's a very personal experience, as they aren't as big as some of the other companies. We had the raft all to ourselves and had a dang blast!!!

Thank MalloryA8416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, Owner at Independent Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We love giving you that personal experience on the river! I'm happy to hear that your second time was a great one. I hope visit number three isn't too far away.
-Mike, Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independent Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Independent Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing