We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to the Mountains”
Review of Gateway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This hotel provides spacious rooms for a reasonable price. It is located in a small downtown area surrounded by scenic mountains.

The staff of this hotel is very friendly! Upon my arrival, the man working at the desk was willing to walk with me to show me where my room was even though it was very cold outside. He also gave suggestions on where to look to make sure road conditions are safe.

Overall I had no big issues with my time here. The heater was a bit confusing to understand but eventually I figured it out. I'd definitely recommend if you're in the area and need a place to stay for a night!

Room Tip: The East Wing is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Garrett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2014

This is an old property but it did what a motel should do: Provide a clean, comfortable and quiet environment for a good night's sleep. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to be sure their guests are satisfied. They seem to be undertaking a slow renovation process an progress can be seen. A comp breakfast (we just had cereal) in an adjoining breakfast room was an unexpected plus.

Try to get a room on the first floor. The stairs for a second floor room are a hump with luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Retired1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Your kind review means a lot to us. Thank you very much for staying with us! Truly looking forward to your future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

If you want "fancy" then this motel isn't for you. However, the Gateway Lodge is simple, clean, quiet and well worth the value. The owners are friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. I can't say enough how immaculate our room was! Seriously, I have OCD and so, have a fear of motel rooms in general (not a joke). Not the case with this motel. Not a speck of dust or dirt to be found. In fact, I accidently dropped the TV remote behind the night table and being how I am, I was hesitant to pull it out to retrieve it. I was pleasantly shocked to discover the cleanest carpeting behind that piece of furniture. wow. The bedding was comfortable and fresh-smelling... even the parking lot was clean as could be. The only constructive criticism I would have is that although Gateway Lodge has a nice little Continental Breakfast for their guests, it would have been nice to have a coffeemaker (even a 4-cup size) in our room. That aside, we would definitely reccomend this motel. Dziekuja (Thank You) Gateway Lodge for a most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCDiva-Judes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you so much for such kind review. It means so much to us and we truly appreciate it. We look forward to your future stay with us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014 via mobile

Booked a room on labor day for quite the steal and laid back not expecting much. Meeting the owner Marcin was a refreshing dose of air at check in and personalized my room to the back rooms for non smoking and quiet. Then had a 45 minute on Poland and life in Europe haha.

Room was obviously redone and looked fresh. Anna loves fresh smelling linens as do I, so expect sunshine smelling linen. Queen bed was as soft as a marshmellow. Super awesome.

Breakfast isnt 5 star but it didnt have to be with the food stuffs they have to fill ya up. And upon check out I had two small complaints and Anna professionally wrote down the issue for Marcin to fix and gave me a fair rate for my hassle.

For the price the service was B&B quality attention and you re supporting Rifle instead of investors in China for brand name rooms. Will go back.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for your honest review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay here with us and for you to support small and family operated business is extremely appreciated. We look forward to see you in the near future :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I’ve watched this hotel grow and improve over the years and these new owners are fantastic. They are friendly, polite, and so helpful! They have put so much time and effort into improving and updating their motel. I prefer smaller, family-run establishments like this over those big chain corporate places... so this one appeals to me! If you want a nice room for a good price, this is the place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Edward,

We are extremely grateful for your kind review. It means a lot to us and our business. Thank you so much for your continued support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rifle hotels
1.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rifle
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rifle
1.4 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Rifle
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
1.8 km away
Budget Star Motel
Budget Star Motel
#4 of 6 in Rifle
17 reviews
1.1 km away
Centennial Suites
Centennial Suites
#1 of 1 in Rifle
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Address: 520 Railroad Ave, Rifle, CO 81650-3548 (Formerly Winchester Motel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Rifle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Price Range: €65 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lodge located in the heart of Rifle's historic Downtown area features clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates. Close to shopping, restaurants, cocktail lounges, and a convenience store across the street. Gateway Lodge puts you at the hub of area attractions. Plus you'll enjoy the quality rooms and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Gateway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing