We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Mexican food around here”
Review of Carreta Vieja

Carreta Vieja
Ranked #18 of 24 Restaurants in Morrison
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Licensed & Insured Sole-owned Proprietor
Restaurant details
Description: Licensed & Insured Sole-owned Proprietor
Reviewed 23 May 2017

CV is a family owned restaurant in Sky Village, which is just a bit east of Conifer. They offer a varied menu, large portions and a friendly wait staff. There are 5 or 6 Mexican places within just a few miles, and this is the best.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colise W, Owner at Carreta Vieja, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thrilled we can be the best in your eyes, Mike! Hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Scott Phillips, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Carreta Vieja is a bit hard to see off Hwy 285 near Windy Point, but it's worth it. By far the best Mexican food in Conifer (of the 3) and ask for a top shelf Margarita and you'll be pleasantly surprised. One of the best I have ever had (and I live in Arizona)!
Chips (warm) and fresh salsa are great and a varied menu (although pretty spiced down for CO tastes). If you like spicy just tell them. Have eaten here many times and you can't go wrong. Small but nice bar for sports as well, plus in the summer a very big covered area for dining in the nice mountain air.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colise W, Owner at Carreta Vieja, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks for visiting us a few times, Rick -- it's fantastic you always enjoy your meals here! Can't wait to see you again.

All the best,
Scott Phillips, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Our server (manager) was friendly, fun and helpful with her recommendations. The food was great! (We've both lived in Texas so we're picky.) I had the seafood chimichanga. And, oh, yeah, "the top shelf" margarita could be called "the best" as far as I'm concerned.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 18RachelMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colise W, Owner at Carreta Vieja, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

I know Mexican food is big in Texas, so I'm thrilled our authentic taste could really shine through! Hope to see you next time you're in the area, Rachel.

All the best,
Scott Phillips, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The chips & salsa & cilantro slaw are the best! The portions are generous & the prices can't be beat. We like the Carne Asada the best - the meat has a tasty marinade & is always tender & done to perfection. Sabor Bueno! (or something like that)

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The food here is pretty decent. Suggestion...if a certain waitress asks you if you like orange while ordering a margarita...just say no. It's her special and it's gonna cost you. Most likely she doesn't still work there but just FYI. other than that...we really enjoy going here.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank bridgetc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carreta Vieja also viewed

 

Been to Carreta Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing