We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of an Era, Flagstone's gone”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Last weekend my wife and I visited Mancos and Flagstone Meadows Ranch for, regrettably, the eleventh and last time. We couldn't stay at Flagstone because Harris Court had sold it to a couple who promised to keep it as a bed and breakfast-but won't. That's another story.

This post is for all of us who loved Flagstone Meadows. It was a home away from home, a Native American Museum, a place to have conversations with people from all over the world during the great breakfasts Harris prepared and a perfect headquarters for day trips to the Four Corners, sometimes with Harris our expert guide. The leather couches, the fireplace, the deck and the mammoth breakfast table are irreplaceable and, yes, we'll stay out of the kitchen.

We, like so many others, didn't return to Flagstone Meadows because of the lodge or the location. We came because of Harris Court who we loved as a great friend. Harris was not only the perfect host but was a totally decent, honest, kind and caring person; the kind you'd want for a brother though the proximity of my birthday and his would have made that impossible unless one of us was adopted. So we wish Harris the absolute best as he travels to see his family in Arizona, Utah and Montana and we look forward to the time when he'll finally have the opportunity to visit us in Tennessee. I sincerely hope that so many of us to whom he has given so much will return the favor and have him to our homes-but don't book him until he travels to Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Try Blue Lake Ranch in Hesperus.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A3585FEdanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience with innkeeper Harris and the cool lodgers he attracts ! While the B & B is off the main road on a 3 mile dirt/stone road the views from every angle are spectacular - snow covered La Plata mountains on 1 side & Mesa Verde National Park on the other. One of the best reasons to stay here is to get to know Harris. He is Navajo, speaks the language, has a deep passion for his culture, knows everyone - he is a wealth of information' about sites and experiences that aren't in the tour books. We joined his Friends for a horseback ride deep into their ranch where we were treated to a genuine cowboy support and the melodic voice of 'cowgirl Lynn' - what a treat. By the way, the house is spotless, lots of gathering spaces in and out, beds are comfy, everyone has breakfast together - which we love because you interact with other guests, share great finds and faux pas, and makes it fun to have wine with them in the evenings.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank _judith_fonzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

As advertised and more. Homemade southwestern breakfast, beautiful home, comfy beds and beautiful vistas. Herris is a kind, hospitable and knowledgeable host. Silent nights where you here only the rustling of aspen leaves and hummingbirds. Close to Mesa Verde.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PBogenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Found this bed and breakfast online and booked it based on the reviews we saw here on Trip Advisor. Couldn't have been happier with the results. We stayed three nights while visiting Mesa Verde National Park and other ancient puebloan sites in this area.
Our host was interesting and attentive. Our room was clean, comfortable and the feel of the entire house was welcoming. We met most of the other guests and spent July 4th watching the fireworks in the town of Mancos several miles away from the patio while conversing with a couple from Italy and two musician sisters from New York who were experiencing the American west for the first time.
Breakfast was served daily with a "battle of the birds" taking place outside the bay window of the dining room. Wild turkeys and magpies vied for the bird food our host put out each morning, leading to some entertaining skirmishes that surged back and forth as the advantage changed moment to moment. Usually however, the wild turkeys ended up dominating.
There were two or three trails from the house that wandered through the ponderosa,juniper forest. One in particular led down the hill and under a "roosting tree" that was the overnight accommodation for the wild turkey band that frequented our mornings.
Beautiful, relaxing, reviving. My wife and I both loved this place.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Members of my family have been going here for years and have always encouraged me to join them. I had the opportunity for a few days this week and everything I had been told was true. Flagstone Meadows is an elegant B & B nestled in the countryside surrounded by land. Harris is such a wonderful host who makes you part of the family the minute you walk through the door. From the cozy fire in the living room to the gourmet breakfast he serves you each morning makes you feel as if you have known him forever. He gave us lots of tips on places to visit and things to see. He is extremely knowledgeable and knows the area quite well.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have private baths.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LindaA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
18.7 km away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
18.2 km away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,796 reviews
18.9 km away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
5.9 km away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
240 reviews
1.0 km away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328-1137
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience this beautiful and spacious timber lodge, on 36 serene acres; only 30 minutes to Durango, just 10 minutes to Mesa Verde. Gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains, valley and meadows. Eight charming and uniqely decorated guest rooms each with private full bath; four have decks. Enjoy the soothing Hot Tub, Infrared Sauna, Billards table, Foos Ball, Satellite TV, video library, delicious hearty breakfasts, sunshine days and star-filled nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing