We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundance Bear Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mesa Verde Motel(Mancos)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
149
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinmesa verdea wonderful place to staycatfishbobhostsdogpondsundancedurangokitentrancecountrysidetrailwildlife
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

This was the greatest place we had the opportunity to spend a couple of nights during our bucket list trip. Bob and Sue were so very special and made us feel like family. The lodge and the rooms were absolutely beautiful. We had delicious breakfast each morning, shared with the company of Bob and Sue. There is not enough words to express the total excellence of the Sundance Bear Lodge. We liked it so much we did not want to leave. If we have the opportunity to travel to Colorado again, we will definitely want to stay at the Sundance.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorbatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is wonderful B & B. We experienced a most delightful sunset in the shadow of Mesa Verde and were able to relax just like at home. Our accommodation was fantastic, and Sue and Bob are delightful. We enjoyed our time with them, and they even got up early to ensure we had breakfast and snacks before our early morning departure. This is a great place to stay - only minutes away from Mesa Verde, and close to Durango and other amazing western Colorado attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1234PLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We spent a few nights in Mancos at the Sundance Bear Lodge in the summer. It was a wonderful place to stay while we visited Mesa Verde National Park. The proprietors were lovely, friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area, and the food was delicious. It is close to Durango and Mesa Verde, a great place to stay if you want to spend some time in the area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jodia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thanks so much for the kind words. We've been in business for 19 years and enjoy meeting all of our guests. Each year we learn a little more about Mesa Verde ; 2016 was a difficult year for the park with Spruce Tree House closed. This is closing the holiday (Dec.) special event too. Overall I think the park did a good job of compensating with the change in schedules for the other alcove sites. We urge travels to recognize that there is more to do than a visit to Mesa Verde!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We were on a roadtrip, so we could only stay one night, but it was SO totally worth it! Bob and Sue are the best hosts on this planet. So friendly, nice and full of smiles. The setting is better than any postcard. To be able to see the milky way at night is really something and a great plus! The room was cozy, the living room around the fire place felt immediately like home and the breakfast, lovely prepared by Bob and Sue themselves, just 10 out of 10! Special mention to Pepper, their dog!

Thank you for making our day!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank ttsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit with Bob and Sue. Our first time at Mesa Verde and it was memorable. Bob was extremely knowledgeable about the area and shared his information with us over breakfast . And did I say breakfast !!! Sue is a great cook and served us wholesome and delicious meals each morning . A real hidden gem and we would highly recommend staying there

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you!! We do our best to give each guest a positive memorable experience.
Sue & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews