We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
What a great museum!

My husband and I visited this museum simply because the weather was so cold/windy that doing... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
fab04
,
Huntsville, Alabama
Something for everyone

I have been to Leadville many times and even though I'm a museum lover this one had never seemed... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
SusieLou
,
Fruita, Colorado
Read all 320 reviews
  
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
192
112
15
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
112
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mineral specimens high school coal mine great exhibits crystal room square feet life size interactive displays model railroad walk thru several floors gift shop couple of hours on display gold rush aaa discount great place to learn
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I didn't expect to find mining interesting but it was. Great exhibits from minerals and displays. I enjoyed the walk through the mock mine. Also provides good historical information on Colorado. It would be easy to spend a half day here. The gift shop is ideal for children.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank BSC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Events Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are happy you were pleasantly surprised by your visit to the museum! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went hiking in the mountain ranges near Leadville. While this was an enjoyable and spectacular hike it was also a very informative one that we found historically significant. A visit to the national mining museum simply rounded out our great day and added immensely to our knowledge and appreciation of the area. The museum was splendid and I was surprised at the quality of the displays and the overall appearance of the museum. An extremely pleasant and friendly staff only added to our experience. If you ever visit Leadville a stop at the national mining museum is a must. Thank you.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Events Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

So glad you got to experience both our beautiful outdoors and the museum. We couldn't agree more that if you are in the area you should make time to explore our 25,000 sq ft museum. Thank you for the complimentary review of our exhibits and taking the time to encourage others to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Stepping into the former Leadville High School, the museum opens your mind to how important mining is to everyday life. The museum is filled with great exhibits and hands-on stuff for all ages. There's a lot of mining history in Leadville area and Colorado and this gives great insight into it.

Our group spent a couple of hours there and could had stayed a few more. Definitely recommend it when you're in the area.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank JimH_Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Event Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Its good to hear our exhibits are conveying just how important mining is to our everyday lives! We are a large museum and recommend allowing a minimum of two hours to go through it but as you indicated many will want to allow more time. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The mining museum is a great place to learn about mining, past and present. What I found so interesting was the hardships and hazards the early Colorado miners went through to make a living. Fantastic wealth came out of Colorado including the Little Johnny Mine of Molly Brown fame and the story of Baby Doe. Leadville it's self is full of historic places and the Cafe Sanchez...across the street from the antique mall...has fantastic Mexican food at such a reasonable price.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Kae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Event Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

We appreciate the five star review! It truly is incredible what miners all over the US endured to get the riches out of the ground. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We were a group of five traveling through the area and decided to give this place a chance, I'm so glad we did. I was blown away at the detail and the enormity of the exhibits. Wonderful learning experience.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Whitechris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Event Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you appreciate the time and detail that have gone into our exhibits! Numerous staff and volunteers over the years, many of them miners, have spent hours and hours creating realistic models of mines for our exhibits. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews