We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive introduction to mining, etc.”

National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum
Ranked #4 of 40 things to do in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Was told about this place by my ski instructor. Had some spare time and visited --- great decision. I like museums but had no knowledge of both mining history and the mining industry --- and now I do and it was definitely time well-spent.

Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Events Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

So grateful to the ski instructor who sent you our way. We are glad you took away new knowledge! Most people don't realize how integral mining's history is to the development of the U.S. and the important role it continues to play in our daily lives. If you are in the area again, be sure to come back; we are likely to have a new exhibit or two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mineral specimens"
in 9 reviews
"high school"
in 12 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"coal mine"
in 6 reviews
"crystal room"
in 5 reviews
"life size"
in 5 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 4 reviews
"model railroad"
in 4 reviews
"walk thru"
in 4 reviews
"square feet"
in 4 reviews
"several floors"
in 4 reviews
"extensive collection"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop"
in 15 reviews
"hard rock"
in 3 reviews
"gold rush"
in 5 reviews
"aaa discount"
in 4 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I didn't expect to find mining interesting but it was. Great exhibits from minerals and displays. I enjoyed the walk through the mock mine. Also provides good historical information on Colorado. It would be easy to spend a half day here. The gift shop is ideal for children.

2  Thank BSC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Events Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are happy you were pleasantly surprised by your visit to the museum! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went hiking in the mountain ranges near Leadville. While this was an enjoyable and spectacular hike it was also a very informative one that we found historically significant. A visit to the national mining museum simply rounded out our great day and added immensely to our knowledge and appreciation of the area. The museum was splendid and I was surprised at the quality of the displays and the overall appearance of the museum. An extremely pleasant and friendly staff only added to our experience. If you ever visit Leadville a stop at the national mining museum is a must. Thank you.

2  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Events Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

So glad you got to experience both our beautiful outdoors and the museum. We couldn't agree more that if you are in the area you should make time to explore our 25,000 sq ft museum. Thank you for the complimentary review of our exhibits and taking the time to encourage others to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Stepping into the former Leadville High School, the museum opens your mind to how important mining is to everyday life. The museum is filled with great exhibits and hands-on stuff for all ages. There's a lot of mining history in Leadville area and Colorado and this gives great insight into it.

Our group spent a couple of hours there and could had stayed a few more. Definitely recommend it when you're in the area.

1  Thank JimH_Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Event Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Its good to hear our exhibits are conveying just how important mining is to our everyday lives! We are a large museum and recommend allowing a minimum of two hours to go through it but as you indicated many will want to allow more time. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The mining museum is a great place to learn about mining, past and present. What I found so interesting was the hardships and hazards the early Colorado miners went through to make a living. Fantastic wealth came out of Colorado including the Little Johnny Mine of Molly Brown fame and the story of Baby Doe. Leadville it's self is full of historic places and the Cafe Sanchez...across the street from the antique mall...has fantastic Mexican food at such a reasonable price.

2  Thank Kae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine W, Event Manager at National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

We appreciate the five star review! It truly is incredible what miners all over the US endured to get the riches out of the ground. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing