We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rapids Lodge(Grand Lake)(Great Value!)
US$245
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Eagle Lodge(Grand Lake)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maxwell Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's River Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Lake Lodge(Grand Lake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spirit Lake Lodge(Grand Lake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
240
195
68
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
195
68
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree popcornhappy hourlog furniturehot tubyogurtin towncomplimentary breakfastboard gamesbar foodlive musichuge deckroom was spaciousmountain viewparking lothardwood floorsfull barmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed one night in September and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The guest room and the bathroom were quite roomy. That evening the city had fireworks and we were able to watch from the hotel deck. What was so neat was that the owners furnished blankets to wrap us as we watched the display on the cold night.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you Judy O for your excellent review! We strive to make every ones stay as amazing as possible. Hope you can stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My sister and I stayed at the Gateway Inn for 2-nights in September. The room was very clean and well maintained. The people at the desk were very helpful in suggesting places to eat, etc. My sister thought that the Inn would be closer to the lake. Our window view was the parking lot which we were told was only available for the nights that we requested. The breakfast was adequate. A major concern, however, were the beds. They were so high up from the floor that we requested stools. Also, the bath tub was a problem for me because of the height and no visible bars to hold onto.

Room Tip: View of the Lake; which is a distance from the Inn.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Jane S for taking the time to write a review! Were happy you enjoyed your stay. We do have handicap rooms that have lower beds and shower railings. Hope you can stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on a whim. Was not super impressed with initial sight and room was not well positioned. Close to front door that was constantly opening and shutting. Staff were an interesting bunch. Lady who seemed to be running the show was pleasant enough, guy behind the bar good, female behind the bar had a gutter mouth whether behind or drinking at the bar. The place grow on me but definitely not the food. The fine dinning was far from it, tapas are on the menu but seriously there was nothing that looked like tapas. Upstairs I had garlic shrimps that was drowned in garlic oil and strangely enough tasted the same as the garlic soaked chicken wings the next night. Local produce does not seem to get a mention and what an opportunity. Breakfast was good but had to think why one of the staff would be talking about the fact that they have gone through 3 boxes of hash browns. I would recommend you stay here as it’s is fine, although I little over priced. Someone said it was out of town. Yes, if you are incapable of walking 5-10 min. Yes, the music on Saturday night goes to about 9:00 pm, not really going to stop you sleeping and the bar closes at 10:00. Some of the negative revues are inaccurate.
I would be happy to go back, just do something about the food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank roscosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you roscosully for taking the time to write a review! I will bring this up to my staff members so they are aware of their conduct to customers. I will also forward this on to the restaurant. Our rooms do go down in price during winter months. Hope you can stay with us again and thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here after a wonderful visit to Rocky Mountain National Park. Our room was large with a view of Grand Lake. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast was included. This Inn was a comfortable place to relax, and we would return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rob77ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you rob77ohio for taking the time to write a good review! Hope you can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

From the original Web search most of our options were good looking. As it turned out The Gateway was a better choice. The town and surrounding area are quite rural and Route 34 is more or less a dead end route, unless of course you want to head to Estes Park.
So as far as the stay and ratings, don,t expect the food in most of GL to be fine dinning, at best it's more supper club-ISH but still expensive. The restaurant with in the Gateway was closed during our stay. The snack type breakfast was limited and if you didn't abide by the allotted time, you were SOL. Even as simple as asking for 2 cream cups for coffee, the kitchen is closed man.
After taking a tour of the town and seeing the other options of places to stay, we were better off putting up with a few of the odd formats at the GW Inn.
The town was also in the middle of replacing the main street, which never helps travelers.
The country side is beautiful and the 3 lakes close by makes for a majestic road trip.

Room Tip: If possible get a lake view. The only discount offired is AARP.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brut&Cabernette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you Brut&Cabernette for taking the time to write a review! Grand Lake does offer some amazing fine dining establishments, however, during September restaurants do close down some time do to the off season. I am sorry to hear you can when they were closed. Our continental is from 7 am to 10 am but I am sure if asked we would be more then happy to give you a creamer for your coffee after 10 am. Hope you will try coming back possibly in July or June to really see this town shine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews