We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Friendly Service”
Review of Old Chicago

Old Chicago
Ranked #105 of 302 Restaurants in Grand Junction
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Old Chicago in Grand Junction is a lively eatery with excellent pizza in 3 styles and an expansive menu of entrees and appetizers. The bar selection, especially beers, is enough to please any brew lover—indie domestic or imported. Service is fast and of good cheer. Try the patio if the weather is good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank artman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

This was first time OC has let me done. First day of new, special Ocktoberfest menu and featured meal was "sold out" at 11:45am. That's poor planning.

Manager stepped up to comp my lunch. Alternate was acceptable.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank OldGuyWanderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Living in western Colorado, pizza needs must be suppressed because of poor results. After having a pretty good pizza in Leadville, cravings took over and we tried Old Chicago again and another time. Pizza in Grand Junction is risky, but we used to go to Old Chicago in the Denver area 25 years ago and it was ok until we found Woody’s. We also went to this one years ago, but the service got worse and worse. For years all the servers have been young girls, some of whom are dumb, flaky or don’t care. Judging on the last two times, the service is not quite as bad as it was, but one server had difficulty with simple tasks and was really slow.

We tried the thin crust and it was baked hard. A chain saw is a necessity. The pizza is not cut like a pie, but in squares that are hard to pick up like a pizza pie. Some pieces have to be cut, but it is very hard to do so. It is also hard to get a fork in it as it has the strength of iron. The stuff on the pizza is ok, but after trying to cut a piece everything has fallen off and is a mess. This is obviously the invention of some corporate idiot trying to come up with something different. It arrived not on a metal dish it was baked on, but a metal grid. I guess that bakes it like iron. It also means no olive oil is used on the bottom of the crust nor are salt crystals used either—if you want real pizza, that is necessary.

If this is the way they do it in Chicago, I feel sorry for Chicagoans. Poor service has been true about this place for at least 15 years, but the pizza was ok many years ago. Now the pizza is weird. Something happens when pizza comes to Grand Junction. Boston Pizza in Canada is good, but their US chain, Boston’s is not good. A couple of restaurants in town claim NY pizza. Instead they put out a bland boring pizza. Is there no pizza justice?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CrawfordGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We love Old Chicago. The service and staff is always great, the drinks always cold, the food-delish.. BUT, now I have a complaint. The Oh my spaghetti pie has always been a favorite dish, but was I ever surprised to NOT see the nice pie shaped serving of the thick noodles and cheese draped in marinara sauce.. SO disappointed. What I received was a small glop of spaghetti noodles with “some”cheese holding it together. NOTHING like it has been before, plus the price was still the same for something maybe worth half the price. Very dissatisfied. Hoping this was a fluke maybe, but spoke with friends who have experienced the same thing. I really hope Old C’s redeems itself, somehow.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We stopped in for lunch -very good easy to find ,good service,the pizza was very good and also the ribs were tasty,I really liked the atmosphere its kind of a sports bar,with a variation of beers.I will gladly return !

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Chicago also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to Old Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing