We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
47
31
17
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
31
17
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice maker full kitchen an extended stay hotel sized fridge pots and pans clean property front desk available for purchase queen size bed city market quiet location the holiday inn express free breakfast laundry room recommend this hotel stay there again nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Checkin staff and all staff throughout very friendly and helpful. Room was large, clean, and comfortable. Our only suggestions would be SOFTER towels, firmer pillows and ice machine. The room had a two burner kitchen, with sink, large fridge and all the utensils/cookware needed. However, the ice maker in fridge was slow, and did not make enough ice "overnight" for our needs. It's turned off in between guests, and suggested to "turn off" while in room since its VERY LOUD. Well, if we turn it off to avoid the loud noise, and YES it's really loud, then we would have had no ice. In fact, there's a sign on the fridge saying "turn off ice maker to avoid loud noise". Crazy, right??? The towels were like sandpaper, very hard, the hardest ever...too bad cuz they were nice thick towels. A little softener goes a long way! All the pillows were soft, not one was firm of the 4 pillows on our queen size bed. A variety would have been better. All in all, it's a nice hotel, in a nice area, close to shopping and restaurants and a City Market within walking distance for grocery items! Would recommend and would stay there again. hoping that pillows, towels and ice machine added. FREE breakfast would have been nice too, considering similar hotels in the area offered free breakfast and lower hotel rates.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyrphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Booked this hotel not realizing it is considered an extended stay hotel. It was great. The hotel was easy to find and in a quiet location. The staff was helpful and informative. Our room had a kitchenette that was well equipped. As an extended stay establishment, they don't serve breakfast, but do have a few things available for purchase. Anyway, we did some cooking in the room and were pleasantly surprised and the quality of the cookware and utensils. The room was sparkling clean and comfortable. The wifi worked well. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor on the back side--decent view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ckm53snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Wow! Thank you so much for the stellar review. When we have individuals who stay with us and they are unaware that we are an extended stay property, we tend to receive a bad reviews. I believe that when this happens they arrive and are disappointed that we don't do the industries "norm" of serving breakfast, which inevitably leads to these bad reviews.So I too am pleasantly surprised as well.

I will pass this on to my staff with a job well done. We always appreciate feedback weather good or bad as this helps us to improve our guest satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Gratefully,
Bill Spychala-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stay here when visiting Grand Junction because of its convenient location and dog friendly rooms. It's a very clean hotel with friendly staff. The value is good too. I recommend this hotel to families or those traveling on business!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank eel217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Overall, a decent stay. But disappointed in some of the same things others have mentioned such as no comp breakfast nor comp newspapers. We did have to get moved as the first room had been obviously occupied by a smoker even though the entire facility is to be smoke free. Our second room was fine.

Rooms are set up for cooking, but that seems somewhat incongruous in that many guests are just passing through the area. But if you have items to cool, a full sized refrigerator is available.

As noted by others, this is a pet-friendly property, so expect to see dogs. We did not hear dogs, so most are used to staying in hotels.

The morning we left, the elevator was not working properly and we were on the top floor. Front desk was making the best of an unwieldy problem, but a new facility should not have this kind of issue. (The problem was the elevator car buttons for floor selection were not working...we were told the elevators had been inspected twice in last week and given clean bills of health.)

Overall, a nice place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Chris L,

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced.
As a 100% smoke free facility we impose a large fine for those who would violate our no smoking policy. Unfortunately, some individuals feel that paying a $500 fee is worth it to smoke in the room, or they spray cover ups hoping that that will take care of the smell, as I believe it was with this case. I would like you to know that once you pointed this out to us we did what is known as a deep clean in that room to rid the room of the offensive odor.
I would also like to let you know that our elevator has also been repaired with a solution that we are hoping will prevent this issue from occurring in the future. You are correct in your assertion that as a new hotel our elevator should not be down. According to our repair person, the plate which sits behind the elevator buttons was knocked out of place by a forceful hit to the panel itself. He was surprised that the plate was out of place as the hit to the panel would have had to have been substantial. And yet that was the only explanation he could come up with for how the panel was dislodged.
We take our feedback from our guests very seriously and I am very appreciative for all the time our guests take to let us know when deficiencies happen.

Thank you so much for the information.

Respectfully,

Bill Spychala-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Good location. Friendly staff and a good price. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. Comfortable bed and good shower. Just wish they had breakfast in the morning although we did have a kitchen/refrigerator. Good coffee. I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews