We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great town, OK Hotel”
Review of Plaza Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Inn Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Ramada Inn, Glenwood Springs, Colorado on a last minute get-away. Because we were very late in booking, we had a limited choice of hotels to choose from. We booked two nights at the Ramada Inn. The hotel is convenient to the area's many attractions, so that was good. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but it did have that 60's motel feel to it. We were on the ground floor, so we did not need to use the elevator, good thing, since it had a handwritten paper sign on it telling people that it was not accessable to anyone on the first or fourth (top) floors. Made me wonder how it could be safe to use between floors and two and three, or why they had it operating at all. The restaurant in the hotel had a breakfast buffet, which was mediocre, but had plenty to eat. Village Inn was right next door if you wanted a little fresher fare. Glenwood has so much to do that we spent very little time in the room anyhow, but when we go back, which we will, we plan on staying at the historic Hotel Colorado. It will cost more, but what a grand place it is.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

931 - 935 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

nice hotel except for noisy ice maker and coke machine. kept me awake 1/2 the night. I complained the next morning-asked that when they are 3/4 empty they don't put guests directly opposite these machines. I should have asked for a different room when we checked in , but noise wasn't so apparent during the day. I thought some sort of apology would be extended, maybe a 10% off the next stay offer, but just some vague acknowledgement of what I had reported. not the sharpest minds on the planet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We unexpectedly ended up in Glenwood Springs over a holiday weekend on a family road trip. Since we hadn't planned on staying in Glenwood, we didn't have a hotel reservation anywhere, and finding a hotel there on a busy weekend is next to impossible. We started calling around to find a room and finally found a couple at the Ramada. When we went into the Ramada to check in, the first impression was dark, slightly smelly, and seriously outdated.

We went ahead and checked into our rooms since we thought we had no other options in a fully booked town. The rooms were small, cramped, and dark with wet carpets and a pervasive smell of vomit. The bathrooms were tiny, the hallways smelled like mildew, and even my 6 year old thought it was creepy. The only positives about the place were the mini fridge and microwave in the rooms. The whole property needs an extreme renovation.

Since this was not a place where I wanted to let my family sleep, I started calling around again for rooms and lucked out with someone canceling a reservation at another hotel. Since we were in our rooms for less than an hour, the front desk didn't charge us anything when we checked out, and quite honestly, the girl working up there didn't seem too surprised when we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachWanderer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My family and I were on vacation in Colorado visiting various locations, friendsand family. It was around 7pm and we were ready to find a place to stay. The Ramada looked good, the four squad cars in the lot should have been a clue, but my spouse is a police officer and thought it was probably a training session. Upon checking in we met Alison at the front desk not very friendly and almost to the point of rude. Again we were tired and just wanted a place to stay after driving so far. We did check in. Alison instructed us we could park our vehicle and trailer around back. We did pull around back and found why the police were there, they had two people on the ground, nice neighborhood. We were not able to find a place to park as the lot was full of semi trailors just the trailor no semi. When we did go back in to inform Alison she told us we could just park in the clearly marked no parking zone that everyone does it. She was obviously angry that we were not willing to park there and rude, rude, rude. I am not able to report on the rooms as we did not make it past the front desk. The Best Western up the street is run by some very nice people and a full breakfast is included in the price of your room, which was neat and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Susiesponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Great staff - just an aging facility. Owners can choose to upkeep and remain competitive - or budget cut and let it run down. I'd imagine if Ramada Corporate saw the condition this facility was in they'd shut them down for a mandatory makeover. For the money - many other choices like the Holiday Inn or Hampton will get you a remodeled, clean, free breakfast stay for the same investment. Only plus this hotel has a bar and many other hotels do not in this town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slyasafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites On The River
Quality Inn & Suites On The Rive...
#11 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
361 reviews
0.2 km away
Silver Spruce Motel
Silver Spruce Motel
#19 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
205 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Spr...
#16 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
270 reviews
2.2 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
336 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn Hotel

Address: 124 W 6th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2912 (Formerly Ramada Glenwood Springs)
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: €72 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Blocks to historic downtown Glenwood Springs and on-site restaurant. Your mountain getaway begins at our Ramada Inn and Suites. Our pet-friendly Glenwood Springs hotel near Aspen is nestled in the foothills of the Rockies off Interstate 70 with easy access to the Denver area. Relax in rustic comfort in your hotel room or stretch out in one of our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Ramada
Ramada Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing