We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caravan Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Comfortable but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

On our vacations, we often try to avoid the chain motels. Reviews of the Caravan Inn seemed to indicated that it was what we were looking for. In most respect, it fulfilled our expectations. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. Fixtures were somewhat dated, especially the 19-inch TV. Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The major shortcoming was the WiFi which was subpar. When you could access it, it was very slow and would often drop connection after a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    55
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
72
46
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you are looking for a pet-friendly, family-owned inn in Glenwood Springs, CO, you should consider the Caravan Inn on Grand Avenue. We recently stayed there for two nights with our Great Pyrenees and truly enjoyed ourselves. The inn is conveniently located - away from the interstate - and within walking distance of a dog park and the river walk path.

Our room was clean and spacious. While other guests had pets too, we had no issue with noise. Slept great. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed both the hottub and outdoor pool during our stay. Better breakfast than most inns with pancakes, eggs and sausage among the breakfast items, The coffee was excellent and hot too! All in all, an outstanding value. We will happily come back to the Caravan Inn again - and we will not hestitate to bring the dog!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve924637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHille, Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed having you and Lady as our guests and are happy that you will always consider the Caravan Inn when visiting Glenwood Springs. Please keep in mind to make advance reservations when bringing Lady as not all rooms are pet friendly. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We (a family of 5) stayed one night in a room with 2 queens and a sofa bed for less than $100. We stayed hear because of TRIPADVISOR comments. I read all the comments for this place. We found the staff to be very friendly and most helpful. Before we booked the room the staff allowed us to see the room to make sure it was okay for us to stay in. The room was clean which is the #1 criteria for us. Yes the room needed to be aired out but this was understandable if it was closed up all day with no circulation. We did not try the a/c. The pool was good and the breakfast okay. Bottomline Good Value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It's always good to hear that we are providing a good and clean product. And, I love to hear that my staff is "friendly and most helpful." We appreciate your acknowledgment and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We found the room to be very clean, plenty of towels. The outdoor pool and hot tub were clean as well. The breakfast bar provided warm eggs and sausage, pancakes as well as the usual cold pastries, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, milk, o.j., coffee and tea. We felt like it was a great start for the day. The hotel was a little way from the hot springs pool but it was not a problem to find any places. The room also had a mini frig and microwave, which we really appreciated. There is washer and dryer available. Free parking and wi-fi. The staff was awesome and helped us locate particular places of interest. I didn't have to have a credit card to hold the room, although upon registering a cash deposit is necessary that is returned upon check-out. No room service for meals, but there is a restaurant in the same parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask if there is any package deals for the hot springs pool, ski lift, or other attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arkwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are even more thrilled to have you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

This is a motel, not a hotel with room service or 600-thread count sheets, so with that said... if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable place to unwind after a day of rafting or hiking the Caravan Inn is tops in motels. I stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends for a rafting trip and I just made a reservation to return next month. The friendly service starts with the reservation, you're already made to feel welcomed. The room is a standard motel room with a couple extra bonuses. There is a small fridge which was great for storing the deli food and beverages we picked up at the grocery store that is across the street. If you played hard during the day and want to wash your clothes, they have laundry facilities on-site. You can log onto your laptop free of charge in your room or use the computer available in the lobby. At this motel you can be assured that you DON'T have to stand with your hand on the TV just to get reception and that you DON'T have to do a dance in the shower just to get wet because of the lousy showerhead and water pressure typical of many motels. You can also trust that the pool they have is actually a decent size, clean and functional one. I couldn't ask for anything more at this value. As others have said, it's a little south of some of the highlights in town but my friends and I enjoyed the nice walks in the warm summer evenings.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockiesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHille, Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am thrilled to hear that you rated us"tops in motels." I look forward to seeing you next month so that we can continue to provide you with our quality service and accommodations.

Sincerely,
Barbara Hille
Caravan Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 km away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.5 km away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan Inn

Property: Caravan Inn
Address: 1826 Grand Avenue, Hwy 82, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravan Inn is nestled in the beautiful Colorado Rockies providing you with an amazing scenery the moment you step outside of your room. Conveniently located in Glenwood Springs just 1 mile from the world's largest hot springs pool, the natural vapor caves at the Yampah Spa, and the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. All accommodations come with a deluxe continental breakfast, in room refrigerators, and complimentary wireless internet access. Cool off in our outdoor pool(seasonal) or relax in the outdoor hot tub after you've experienced some of the many activities offered in Glenwood Springs. When making reservations inquire about our various activity packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Caravan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing