We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny is my Fave!”

Sunlight Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunlight features 67 named trails covering over 470 acres. In addition to miles of cruising intermediate terrain, Sunlight's East Ridge has one of the steeper runs in the state. Aptly named, The Heathen falls beneath your feet at a breathtaking 52 degrees. Sunlight is home to one of the longest trails in ski country, Ute, a beginner slope that winds more than 2 miles from summit to base. Sunlight also hosts some of the best tree skiing in Colorado with many aspen groves untracked days after snowfall. All trails converge at the base lodge, so friends and family can always keep track of each other
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Meeker, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunny is my Fave!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Sunlight is just a great little mountain where you can get some good skiing in without the rat race that is typically found at larger resorts. It is much more affordable that the larger mountains and is MUCH less crowded. There is a nice variety of terrain and it is an excellet place for families and those just learning. We're huge fans of Sunlight!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank himcdonuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    70
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A spot of heaven”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Like: the whole resort - been coming here a very long time and they offer all you'd want when you're raising kids and want to ski (their ski school for kids is excellent).
Dislike: always wondering if they're going to "resort-ify" it and mess it up for those of us who like the small, affordable option.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfaJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ski here if you hate crowds.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you're like me., you get tired of standing in 20 minute lift lines at the famous Colorado ski areas. Sunlight is a nice break from that. The area has a nice variety of runs from a 2.5 mile green run for beginners and kids, to some very challenging double blacks. The veiws of Glenwood Canyon and the surrounding range is absolutely beautiful. The lift tickets are less than half the price of nearby Aspen. They even have a 'Young Senior" discount for ages 60-65. I love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank PMA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Sunlight has always been one of our favorite places to go with the family. The mountain has plenty of runs for whatever your skill level, and it's not usually ever crowded. Ski schools are perfect for you little ones just starting out, and it's very affordable—lifts cost only $55. That's a lot cheaper than the price in Aspen or vail (almost half). It's a win win place to go.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank txinswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This year's trip”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Spent 10 days at Sunlight this year (learned here in 1986 and have visited every year): 5 days at Christmas and 5 days this week. Snow was minimal at Christmas, but was skiable. We had snow every day I was here in February and I had to learn how to ski powder again!
Sunlight is great: friendly, caring, reasonably-priced, and great value. The grooming is excellent and you can get as much skiing or riding in a day as you can handle. I think it is well worth the effort to visit!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunlight Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Sunlight Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing