We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
2
5
0
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
5
0
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Local hosts were very helpful and this was perfect for a small family reunion, with an open green grass area for kids to run, and a kick a soccer ball, and they provided two bbq grills and picnic tables for outdoor group meals. We loved the playground and creek running through to fish in. There were trout waiting in the shallow pools too!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We so enjoyed hosting your wonderful family. It was a pleasure to see everyone enjoying all that Bauer's has to offer.
We're glad the fish were biting and appreciate the picture of the fisherman with his catch posted to Facebook.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Evergreen and Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets if your plans allow.

Sue Retterer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Bauers on Tuesday night to stay for one night. We had been travelling since June 26 and this was, by far, the worst place we stayed. The freezer in the mini fridge was so iced over we couldn't use it and the fridge wouldn't even close so none if our stuff stayed cold! The light bulb in the kitchen burned out so no light and there was only enough hot water for one of us to take a 5 minute shower. We let the owners know and they just apologized and said they would fix it for the next guests. Gee thanks We do NOT recommend this place and that's sad because we usually get treated best at family run businesses. Do not stay here...the price was too high for the apathetic service we received.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the room not being up to par. Had you let us know the evening you arrived rather the morning you were leaving we would have taken care of the issues or provided alternative accommodations.

Sue Retterer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My daughter, grandsons and I took a day trip and ended up in Evergreen. We found ourselves in a park where the boys had a great time and didn't want to leave and return home. Since we had nothing we needed to be back home for right away we decided to find a place to stay for the night. I remembered hearing about Bauers Spruce Island Chalets. We looked it up and called. They had a one bedroom left and we found them VERY accomidating. It was just what we were looking for.... out of the city and away from busy roads. Safe for the kids. Very family friendly. It was rustic. It is a place where you want to stay if you want rustic, mountain feeling and clean fresh air. It was like staying in a house in the woods. It was totally furnished just like home. We only had to bring the food. The kitchen was fully accessable with dishes and all. We can't wait to go back again. Thanks for the hospitality.

Room tip: If you want the Ritz or the Weston.... this is not the place for you. This a place for people who are adventurous, like peace and quiet, are rustic, and love the feeling of being in a warm house in the woods, enjoying life and nature.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks for staying with us and especially for providing potential guests a realistic overview of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed or two night at the Ponderosa. We were so wxcited after seekng rhe pics and reviews on the webste. The cabin was relatively clean but not at all as nice as the pics on website. The whole place seemed to not have been maintained in awhile and was in a bit of disrepair. The mattresses on the beds were so old there were peaks and valleys. None of us slept well and two had severe backaches after two nights in the beds. We Needed a full kitchen but there is very little supplied in terms of kitchen goods so we were not able to utilize the kitchen as we'd hoped. The owners were seldom available and did not return calls to the number provided on the office door. It is definitely not the worst place we've ever stayed but it was not even worth half of what we paid. I'd choose the Highland Haven or Bear Creek Cabins any day over this place. They are much nicer, more affordable and have a better location.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mom3ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

I am sorry you feel that your family of five plus your dog were not well accommodated in our three bedroom Ponderosa Chalet, which is one of the favorites of our guests. We particularly cater to families and therefore are able to offer accommodations to your size family unlike most other lodging facilities in the Evergreen area, especially those mentioned in your comments.

As Clare had spoken with you after you left the voice mail I did not think it necessary to return your call. I wish you had called again. If you had articulated your concerns to her we would have made every effort to resolve your issues and provide whatever kitchen amenities you thought were lacking.. If that were not possible we would have released you from the balance of your reservation. We certainly don't want people to continue their stay if they are not happy.

I hope you are able to find accommodations which are more in keeping with your expectations the next time you visit the area.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were in Evergreen recently for a wedding. We stayed at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, and could not have been more pleased with our experience! The staff was very accomodating, the chalet was everything and more that we could have wished for, and the beauty of the grounds and wildlife was truly amazing. We had a beautiful baby deer 4 feet from our chalet everyday eating greenery and did not seem to be afraid of us at all! My husband and myself highly reccomend Bauers and we hope to have the pleasure of returning agian one day soon!

Room tip: We stayed in the Aspen chalet and it fit our needs. One king size bed, a daybed, and a trundle bed for two teenagers. A kitchen with everything you could possibly need for cooking, but who would cook, its so close to the best restaurants EVER in downtown Evergreen!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We appreciate your sharing your experience with potential guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed not only your stay at Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets but the entire Evergreen experience. We love to share our Little Bit of Heaven.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews