We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
2
5
0
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
5
0
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My daughter, grandsons and I took a day trip and ended up in Evergreen. We found ourselves in a park where the boys had a great time and didn't want to leave and return home. Since we had nothing we needed to be back home for right away we decided to find a place to stay for the night. I remembered hearing about Bauers Spruce Island Chalets. We looked it up and called. They had a one bedroom left and we found them VERY accomidating. It was just what we were looking for.... out of the city and away from busy roads. Safe for the kids. Very family friendly. It was rustic. It is a place where you want to stay if you want rustic, mountain feeling and clean fresh air. It was like staying in a house in the woods. It was totally furnished just like home. We only had to bring the food. The kitchen was fully accessable with dishes and all. We can't wait to go back again. Thanks for the hospitality.

Room tip: If you want the Ritz or the Weston.... this is not the place for you. This a place for people who are adventurous, like peace and quiet, are rustic, and love the feeling of being in a warm house in the woods, enjoying life and nature.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks for staying with us and especially for providing potential guests a realistic overview of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed or two night at the Ponderosa. We were so wxcited after seekng rhe pics and reviews on the webste. The cabin was relatively clean but not at all as nice as the pics on website. The whole place seemed to not have been maintained in awhile and was in a bit of disrepair. The mattresses on the beds were so old there were peaks and valleys. None of us slept well and two had severe backaches after two nights in the beds. We Needed a full kitchen but there is very little supplied in terms of kitchen goods so we were not able to utilize the kitchen as we'd hoped. The owners were seldom available and did not return calls to the number provided on the office door. It is definitely not the worst place we've ever stayed but it was not even worth half of what we paid. I'd choose the Highland Haven or Bear Creek Cabins any day over this place. They are much nicer, more affordable and have a better location.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mom3ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

I am sorry you feel that your family of five plus your dog were not well accommodated in our three bedroom Ponderosa Chalet, which is one of the favorites of our guests. We particularly cater to families and therefore are able to offer accommodations to your size family unlike most other lodging facilities in the Evergreen area, especially those mentioned in your comments.

As Clare had spoken with you after you left the voice mail I did not think it necessary to return your call. I wish you had called again. If you had articulated your concerns to her we would have made every effort to resolve your issues and provide whatever kitchen amenities you thought were lacking.. If that were not possible we would have released you from the balance of your reservation. We certainly don't want people to continue their stay if they are not happy.

I hope you are able to find accommodations which are more in keeping with your expectations the next time you visit the area.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were in Evergreen recently for a wedding. We stayed at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, and could not have been more pleased with our experience! The staff was very accomodating, the chalet was everything and more that we could have wished for, and the beauty of the grounds and wildlife was truly amazing. We had a beautiful baby deer 4 feet from our chalet everyday eating greenery and did not seem to be afraid of us at all! My husband and myself highly reccomend Bauers and we hope to have the pleasure of returning agian one day soon!

Room tip: We stayed in the Aspen chalet and it fit our needs. One king size bed, a daybed, and a trundle bed for two teenagers. A kitchen with everything you could possibly need for cooking, but who would cook, its so close to the best restaurants EVER in downtown Evergreen!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We appreciate your sharing your experience with potential guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed not only your stay at Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets but the entire Evergreen experience. We love to share our Little Bit of Heaven.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here with two other couples, so there were six adults total. The common spaces were great, and the kitchen was well equipped to handle cooking meals for the weekend. We spent time playing volleyball and washers in the large grassy area common to all the chalets. We cooked steaks on the charcoal grill one evening. Lots of deer came through the property, which is located next to a creek. The only thing lacking were a few basic kitchen essentials, such as salt/pepper and paper towels. There are some minor faucet issues, but nothing that prevented from an enjoyable weekend. We'll be back next year!

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ftccotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We appreciate your providing a review of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets to give potential guests a feel for what to expect. Seeing groups such as yours enjoying all our facility has to offer is one of the rewards of continuing to provide lodging opportunities in Evergreen. Your comments have been recognized. I hadn't thought about it but it does seem a logical thing to provide salt and pepper, which are now provided.

We hope to see you for your annual get together next year.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The laundry facility for all cabins (used by owner only) was attached to our cabin. Our one bathroom shared the wall with the laundry room - at 8:00 a.m. a family member took a shower and noticed a decrease of water pressure. The owner began washing laundry and couldn't help but hear our shower running on the other side of wall. Five other family members needed to take showers that morning; however, couldn't - the hot water had run out; same hot water heater was used for both cabin and laundry. Tacks from carpet popped out; dirty floors; stains on carpet; broken glass in windows; mold, leaves, dirt in windows; dirty drapery; hairs in bed linens; marks, holes on walls; broken futon. Open trash containers 20 ft from cabin. Will never go back.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews