We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic & hearty Italian cooking in the countryside”
Review of Fontefredda

Fontefredda
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tavenna
Price range: US$34 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Fontefredda, nestled in the hills of Molise countryside, is an old farmhouse now restored, it offers to its guests an intimate and friendly ambience and traditional cuisine at 0 km, with high quality products and closely linked to the traditions of the territory. Welcoming and friendly staff, as the people of these places. Most of the products served come from the family farm. And the highlight is the Italian salami from organic breeding, processed inside dell'"agrisalumificio" Fontefredda, without preservatives or additives. Every day it is proposed a fixed menu, on available raw materials and according to the season. A unique place, where you can be excited from the intense colors of nature, the warmth of the stones and wood, traditional food, by the priceless peace of mind of our landscapes. Ideal for those looking for a place to rediscover the traditional local dishes, but also for enjoying the priceless spectacle of nature, walking through the streets of an ancient country village, playing outdoors with the kids or go with them a real farm. OPEN DURING THE WEEK RESERVATION ONLY
Restaurant details
Description: Fontefredda, nestled in the hills of Molise countryside, is an old farmhouse now restored, it offers to its guests an intimate and friendly ambience and traditional cuisine at 0 km, with high quality products and closely linked to the traditions of the territory. Welcoming and friendly staff, as the people of these places. Most of the products served come from the family farm. And the highlight is the Italian salami from organic breeding, processed inside dell'"agrisalumificio" Fontefredda, without preservatives or additives. Every day it is proposed a fixed menu, on available raw materials and according to the season. A unique place, where you can be excited from the intense colors of nature, the warmth of the stones and wood, traditional food, by the priceless peace of mind of our landscapes. Ideal for those looking for a place to rediscover the traditional local dishes, but also for enjoying the priceless spectacle of nature, walking through the streets of an ancient country village, playing outdoors with the kids or go with them a real farm. OPEN DURING THE WEEK RESERVATION ONLY
Reviewed 24 December 2016

A brilliant meal. Truffled ravioli, prosecco, tasting plate of cheeses, topped off with a tiramisu. We left everything up to the chef, and it was spot-on. Couldn't fault the food here one bit.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

To me and my family (wife and children 13,11 and 7) this is paradise. We, swedish family, first came here two years ago and re-visited this year. This agriturismo has exactly what we appriciate. Clean and nice apartments. Wonderful pool with a view. These are great fundaments for sucess. But the magic is created by the owners and their staff. There is always someone around to ask with travel guiding, a glass of cool tasty white wine or just a chat. The place is designed to be able to withdraw with a book or private time but if you want, offers great oppertunities be social with other guests. And the food! Local, high class ingrediences from the farm and the rolling hills around it are cooked with style and heart. Served with the local wine and with pride. Farm dog Lupen charming company and joins you sometimes if you take a walk. We have travelled Italy for a few years in summer and this place fill our hearts with joy. Me, my wife and the kids have it at # 1 when holiday memories are discussed. Claudia, Fredrica, Valeria, Claudio and the rest of your team, we will return.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Fredrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family (wife & kids aged 5, 8 and 11) stayed here for three nights. We came driving from Rome and the contrast could not have been sharper. Claudia, Claudio, Valeria (speaks excellent english) and the rest of the crew made us feel special, at home and more than welcome. Their friendly and service minded attitude was genuine and made us all relax and shake of the speedy Rome tempo.
The scenary around the agriturismo with rolling hills, sunflower fields and small mountain villages on nearby mountaintops is charming. Indoors our apartment was kept spotlessly cleaned and with rustic charm.
The food is excellent, if you enjoy pure, classic Italian countryside cooking. No tricks, just fresh, locally produced products that goes excellent with their own vine, both rosso and bianco.
One afternoon Claudio took time with us to visit the pigs, the horses and the donkeys. It was great, the kids are used to meet animals and enjoy that. Now, in addition, Claudios warm style made them feel specially treated. And at the farm, the cars and the friendly dog Lup`en became idols.
If you enjoy to relax and just hang out with your family in the countryside, I could not recommend any place better. We will defenitly revisit.

1  Thank Fredrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontefredda, Direttore at Fontefredda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fontefredda also viewed

Palata, Province of Campobasso
Mafalda, Province of Campobasso
 
Montenero di Bisaccia, Province of Campobasso
Montenero di Bisaccia, Province of Campobasso
 
Montenero di Bisaccia, Province of Campobasso
Palata, Province of Campobasso
 

Been to Fontefredda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing