We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Burbs
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Residence Inn Durango was everything we wanted for a three night stay.

Breakfast, coffee and tea around the clock, large comfortable room, plenty of parking and convenient location. The room had a full sized fridge, stove, and dishwasher. When you walk in the room, it's wide open and welcoming. For two of the nights, we got back late from touring and did carry out back to the room. With a separate bedroom, the living room/eating area made this very comfortable and enjoyable. In other hotels, you'd be eating while sitting on the bed - not such a good thing. Here, there was a table with cloth napkins, real flatware, dishes, and glassware. Flat screen TVs in both the living area and the bedroom were a treat. All the staff were friendly and greeted you whenever they saw you. The breakfast staff was happy to see you and thanked you without being over the top chipper. Just right for a morning greeting. Food was quite varied and included fresh fruit, cooked oatmeal (not the instant package), eggs, potatoes, pastries, other breakfast breads, juice, etc, etc.

It's located just off the downtown district which probably added to the peacefulness. No highway noise, no late night carousers on the street.

Nice bathroom and amenities. Plenty of towels and hot water. This is the place to stay for a relaxing environment after seeing the sights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14clubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    103
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
120
89
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nowhere
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We only stayed one night, but the room was fine. We were disappointed that we paid for a king suite (1 king bed and 1 sofa sleeper) and were given a queen suite that was MUCH smaller than my in-laws room (king suite). It was the handicap access room that had a doorbell that scared the crud out of my kids when my nieces rang it. I was a little miffed they wouldn't discount it either since we are a family of 4 and needed that extra space.

The room was clean, bathroom was clean. The bed was VERY firm. It killed my back, but I'm used to my squishy bed. We had plenty of pillows and towels. We had a hard time keeping the temperature comfortable, but that could have been user error. The fridge ran all night (ice maker?) and was pretty loud but didn't keep my kids up. We did hear people above us and some water running during the night. My sister-in-law heard a baby crying in the room next to her that kept her up all night. Bring a white noise machine. The walls are thin.

Breakfast was good, but we aren't picky eaters. There were eggs, potatoes with sausage, a waffle maker, canadian bacon (it was dried out so we didn't eat that). Cereal, milk, fruit, yogurt parfaits with granola. Of course, there is the usual donuts, muffins, toast, bagels as well.The staff manning breakfast was VERY friendly and helpful.

We'd stay there again but I will be bringing a white noise machine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annonnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed at the Residence Inn in late September / early October with my wife and two children for four days. The two bedroom suite (with three flat screen tvs) gave us plenty of room to spread out. The hotel is conveniently located a couple of minute drive from downtown and the rest of Durango.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor (of three floors). I heard a lot of noise above us. This would be avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottpersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Pee stained sheets.... lazy staff who asked that I change the bedding when they brought it to me....dirty bathroom floor... I should have asked for a new location but we had traveled long hours and were with another couple....who were also tired... Sofa in the common area of the suite was filthy around the head area of the back of the sofa.... greasy hair stains.....It took me a few days to get over it... and I will NEVER stay at another Residence inn again.... and I have stayed at many of them. They should be reported to the health Dept.... but with time they will go down just like other poorly managed establishments!

Room Tip: Take your own bedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

A very typical Residence Inn, which are one of our favorite places to stay when traveling. A little on the pricey side, but they usually are. The room was very clean, nice a quiet, and provided a very nice night's sleep. Having a kitchen is nice, but for just a 3 night's stay, we really didn't get a chance to use it. The full size coffee maker, though, is wonderful! The hot breakfast is very good, and includes a "make your own" Belgium waffle maker. They featured a rotating selection of eggs and breakfast meats, along with potatoes, french toast and pancakes.

The only comment is that one thing I was looking for was a hotel within walking distance to the downtown area. I called and was told that it was a very short walk. Reality is that it is about a mile to the heart of downtown. We ended up driving into town. Note that parking is at a premium in the heart of downtown (meters), but by going just a few blocks up into the residential area (3rd St), there was plenty of free parking. Based on its location, I can see why the Doubletree is the top rated hotel, but I don't think the location warranted the extra $100+/night it would cost to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KailuaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Property: Residence Inn Durango
Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing