We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting meal”
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Ranked #23 of 208 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We had never had yak before, so we had to try the stew. It's a very mild meat, so it turned out that stew was a good choice for it, adding flavor. The lamb dumplings (maybe called nom, nom?) were very good as a starter, and we were pleased that papadam came without asking. The lamb curry was very tasty but might have been hotter. I didn't notice if it was possible to order different levels of heat. The naan was puffy and excellent. All in all, it was a great Indian/Tibetan meal for both of us. My husband loved the Chai, and I found the wine reasonably priced.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma B, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for the review! We're happy you enjoyed the lamb dumplings, papadum, and traditional chai. We're also glad you enjoyed your first experience with Yak. It's one of our specialties! We do try to keep the taste preferences of all our guests in mind, so feel free to ask your server for a higher spice level next time you dine with us. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Not familiar with Tibetan and Indian food, so we chose the buffet. The menu is overwhelming. The buffet offered a variety of dishes: chicken curry, chicken Marsala, chicken tandoor, naan, chutneys, basmati rice, etc. the buffet also offered desserts. The buffet was very reasonable at 11.95. Cool atmosphere with great wait staff. We went on a Sunday afternoon and we were seated immediately. Definitely on the repeat list.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma B, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed the buffet and the service. It is a great way to explore a variety of dishes. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Great restaurant. The Sherpa Stew was wonderful. The Himalayan Special Chow-Chow was to die for. Staff were all terrific !

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank thomasfS7098OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma B, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you! We're glad the Sherpa Stew and the Chow-Chow treated you well. Come back soon and ask your waiter for even more delicious suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Naan and Coconut Shrimp, that's all you need to know. Go there.
Nice that they don't overcharge you for craft beer as well.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank kielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma B, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for coming in! We're glad you loved our coconut shrimp and found our beer prices reasonable. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Stopped in here recently with my wife because some other hikers on the Colorado Trail recommended it. $12 for an all-you-can-eat lunch buffet is quite a bargain, especially when there is a nice selection of options. I'm not sure the salad or cole slaw were very authentic, but all the hot entrees seemed on point. (i do prefer some things spicier, but that is always a challenges with a buffet.) I'd also point out that we went about 1:00, but it didn't look like the food had just been sitting out since they opened at 11:00 -- makes a big difference in the quality.
We would definitely return when we are down in Durango, though we both like the similar buffet in Golden CO better.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Runningonadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma B, Owner at Himalayan Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for stopping in and joining us for our buffet after your long hike on the Colorado Trail! We try to appeal to all tastes and to keep our food fresh and local! We hope to have you dine with us again soon! Happy hiking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing