We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
76
25
12
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
25
12
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lockers foosball table full size washer and dryer family ski trip slope side hot tub bedroom condo own meals murphy bed durango mountain outdoor activities full kitchen fitness center grocery store purgatory vrbo snow
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Buildings are outdated and have terrible cooling and heating. House keeping is lazy and just replaces towels. Food options are poor. The prices for food are normal, but you are definitely taken advantage of in the case that town and other options are 30 minutes away. Now there are definitely activities to do while there. Overall seems like the resort is just a place to give fort Lewis students a job .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank AustinH1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed during a very rough time for the resort as they were dealing with the 416 fire. As a motorcycle club with over a hundred members present, we were treated like family, the following staff members were very gracious, and I hope I don't forget any one, Jill, Laura Lynn, Joe, Sam, Amber, Brett, Jaime, Curtis, Liam, and Annie. These folks were under a lot of pressure as the resort was low on staff due to road closures. These folks still made our trip and stay one of the most memorable ever and we are so appreciative.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a one bedroom suite, they are very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We spent time at Purgatory last week and it was a wonderful experience and skeleton crew went out of their way for us. The staff that worked and took care of our group while at Purgatory should not go unrecognized! Jill, LauraLynn, Joe, Sam, Amber, Brett, Jamie, Curtis, Liam and Annie! I would recommend this resort for anyone staying in the Durango area. Their hospitality was incredible! They kept us update on the fires and never was there a time of panic. Great crew and wonderful accommodations. I hope those fires get under control and life can get back to normal for everyone in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We stayed the week of Feb 11, 2018 and were blessed with the best snow of the season up until that point. The Lodge amenities are wonderful: From the hot tub, to the ski lockers, to the onsite restaurants. We enjoyed every meal we had while there and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and tastiness. We ate at the DMR restaurant for dinner and were blown away by the food there. We loved every minute of our stay and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayousammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Director of Lodging Services at Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Your timing was perfect and the snow continues to fall! We are glad that your recent stay at Purgatory Lodge was a good one. The team at Purgatory Resort loves what we do and are happy to serve our guests. We look forward to earning your business again in the future. Thanks, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

This is our second trip to Purgatory for a family ski trip. What a difference from our first trip! We opted to pay a bit more to stay at Purgatory Lodge instead of the less expensive condo complex up the road that we stayed at last time (see my review of that titled “What a Dump!” to understand why this one is “What a Difference!”). We are in a two-bedroom, two-bath condo. It is nicely decorated, spacious, well-maintained, and very comfortable. The kitchen has everything we need, and everything is updated and works. Wi-fi works great and is included. There are two flat screen TVs with basic cable (including a couple of STARZ channels). There is a parking space below the building. The balcony is fairly private, even though our unit overlooks the front entrance of the Lodge. We still have a view of the beautiful mountains, and it’s relatively quiet (except for the music that is piped out by the entrance until 8 PM - the front desk isn’t allowed to turn it off earlier, but they graciously agreed to turn it down a bit when I asked). It’s slightly annoying if you want to hang out in the room at all during the day.

We have access to the Durango Mountain Club, which is right around the corner from our room on the same floor, which is so convenient. We have a locker for our ski equipment and access to the pool, hot tub, and fitness center right there. We can grab our gear and walk right out to the lifts. The pool is well heated and has a slide. Our son loves it. The club has a pool table, video games and foosball table. There is also a Day Spa, where I’m getting a massage later (I may review that separately later). The club also has a full bar and restaurant. Both are a bit pricey, which is typical for resorts, but the bar has decent daily specials and a nice wine list. The restaurant and bar have great views, as well. The food is very good. Staff have been extremely friendly and helpful.

So, we are having a great time despite the snow conditions being far less than optimal (obviously, the resort can’t control the weather).

I highly recommend paying a bit more than some of the more bargain-priced places to have this experience at Purgatory.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank birdie19862016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you for writing such a great review! The team and Purgatory Resort cares about our guests and were we live and play. The snow fall is not like most years - but the team has been working hard to make and maintain the ski terrain we have available. Currently offering 75 of 99 trails. Now all we need is a little help from mother nature. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. Respectfully, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews