We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
40
31
10
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
31
10
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train runs level sites clean restrooms the durango silverton train rv spaces close to town full hookups travel trailer great wifi trolley service laundry facility enjoyed our stay worked fine animas river easy access view of the river great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great location to see the attractions in the area. Once parked there is no reason to take your vehicle into Durango as there is a transit bus that picks you up for a minimal fee about every 20 minutes. The Rv Park itself is nicely treed and grassed. The laundry/ shower/ bathrooms are all kept clean. We have travelled throughout the mid west and stayed at a number of RV Parks, United is reasonably priced Having gone through a wildfire a few years ago at my home I was nervous when I heard enroute about the 416 fire north of Durango. After calling United they calmed my fears and we came anyway. We would return again if given the opportunity.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RedEcho2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We stay at RV parks all over, we are locals and are remolding our house right now and have a business ourself. We are super easy going and understand that people have off days. But after being treated completely rude and unprofessional the 3rd time entering the office I felt I should share! Apparently Melissa is the manager and I can’t imagine anyone giving her that authority after dealing with her. She rudely informed me that we had to pay $5.00 for our guests to use the pool, my daughter and nephew. Which I completely understand but no smiles, no hellos, goodbyes or any standard service modalities. I felt like I was under attack over $10.00 which we just paid them for 2 weeks at $50.00 a day so a chunk of money, so what’s $10.00?? When I called and asked to speak to the owners or how I can get ahold of them she smuggly answered I could come back tomorrow and that she’s not aloud to give out that info. The same attitude my husband and I got when asking her any sort of question. If the owners read this I would appreciate a call 970-799-1517 and I’d be happy to give you references and any info regarding our business, which Melissa before hanging up on me told me she’d like to know what business and I didn’t feel very inclined to share that info with her since I could see someone of her caliber trying to attack the business as well. I’ve lived here 28+ yrs and will continue to contact whoever I have to so that someone is aware that their customer are being treated like this, I wouldn’t tolerate it for a minute. I would even be happy to go around and ask other campers because I’m sure I will get the same feedback and for the sake of everyone here and all future guests I can say I have done something to be proactive towards this kind of behavior. I’ve also never written a bad review in my 41 years but this has to be addressed! Anyone else with the same experience feel free to call me.
Sincerely,
Holly

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Whatcotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Noisiest campground I’ve ever had the displeasure of visiting. Owners do not enforce quiet times. RVers walk their dogs in the tent camping area and don’t clean up after the them. There’s a “no clothes line” rule for tent area except after I was warned and took mine down, the group near me strung there clothes line and never took it down, so I can only assume that solo travelers are discriminated against. Common sense says that tent campers need a clothes line and as long as it’s strung above head level, it won’t cause injury to dumb people who walk around blindly.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Sargento75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We have stayed before and it has improved but still too close to neighbors restrooms clean showers small need new shower heads but very clean train goes through grounds twice a day fun staff was very nice and helpful you can catch trolley and go most anywhere across road from office

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shirleykerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

United Campground is on the banks of the Animas River. The Durango & Silverton narrow Gauge train runs through the campground as does the trolley for easy access to the downtown area. There are 100 plus level sites with water, electricity
and sewer and 90 tent sites with grass. The showers are free for registered guests and the General Store & Gift Shop is there for any additional needs. Pets are allowed and there are plenty of shade trees. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed a day longer than originally planned.

Room Tip: The area near the office is elevated for a nice view of the Animas river.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tambobamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews