We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
470
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests bananas foster bird feeders aspen room evening dessert cookies hot tub b bs homemade desserts nightly desserts creme brulee special dessert wonderful hosts spacious deck wonderful home from scratch beer and wine
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at this wonder B&B to celebrate our anniversary. Walter and Jodi are the most hospitable hosts we have yet encountered. Their breakfasts were delicious and their nightly homemade desserts were fantastic. We really enjoyed the nightly fires, and stretching out on their comfortable couches, too. We stayed in the Aspen Room and it was comfortable and quiet. It was a great place to relax! We will definitely be back! The cell phone service was real spotty there (mostly no service-sometimes roaming), at least with Sprint, but they had good, reliable WiFi and a landline for guest use. Great place to disconnect!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was my third visit too Country Sunshine. As usual, it was great. Walter and Jodi treat their guests like old friends. Walter's nightly deserts are to die for and a highlight of the day, second only to his morning breakfasts. Everything is neat, clean, and well thought out. There is plenty of space to stretch out in front of the fireplace or socialize with other guests during evening desert. Located just outside of town, it is close enough to go to town for whatever you need, but far enough out to be quiet. I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tenderpaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Country Sunshine was a terrific place to stay while in Durango. Walter and Jodi are the perfect hosts with a warm, welcoming nature and plenty of practical advice. We loved being out of town in the country! The room and whole place were spotless and the food is excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

For my husband and I, Country Sunshine B&B was literally a safe haven during a storm. We found ourselves unable to return home to Houston during Hurricane Harvey.

Walter, Jodi, Kristyn, and Norma were thoughtful, gracious, beautiful hosts. Their kindness and the tranquility of our surroundings there helped us greatly in coping with our worries. They are very knowledgeable of the very beautiful area, generous with their time, supremely hospitable. The inn itself is lovely and comfortable, the mountain setting is glorious, and Walter's breakfasts and desserts are scrumptious. He shares recipes, too.

Thank you, dear hosts! We look forward to staying with you again under more relaxing circumstances.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yves1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

From the moment we arrived, Walter, Jodi & Norma made us feel like they'd been waiting for close family or friends to arrive & welcomed us as such. The setting just outside of Durango is picturesque & every one of the six rooms is special. We stayed on the main floor in the very private Sunrise Rm. & had lovely views. Walter's spectacular breakfasts exceeded anything we'd ever had-yummy, unique & beautifully presented & served by sweet Christine. Each of the four evenings all the guests assembled on the deck to share stories of their day & delight in Walter's incredible desserts. Friends who have gone their for 11 years to celebrate their anniversary had invited us to join them this year. We understand now why they return & plan to go back ourselves. A trip to Silverton on the narrow gauge railroad was arranged for us in advance by Jodi & was a highlight of our CO trip.

Room Tip: Advantages to both floors
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2014beachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews