We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Honolulu
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“clean, good location”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed here on business for meetings; staff very nice; rooms small but clean. Breakfast buffet was fine (nothing fancy, but who has time when you're heading out to early meetings?). The business center was 2 computers and 1 printer off lobby --- adequate but not great. The location was across street from Brown Palace and 2 blocks from shopping/walking mall. Not a bad deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    241
    152
    51
    27
See reviews for
68
178
53
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Room is okay. Room was cold, and stayed cold even after I complained to staff. Bed pillows are worn out. Bathrooms are small and oudated. Room doors are thin. Given all this though, the staff is nice and if you are using your hotel just as a place to crash downtown it's perfect. Hotel was clean and well taken care of even though its a little outdated.

I stayed here for two nights November 2011. Connected via a walkway to the Brown Palace hotel (very historic and beautiful). Restaurant Ellyngton's will serve you excellent overpriced breakfast. (think 9 dollars for a glass of orange juice), but great service if you want to treat yourself. I much rather the "Delectable Egg" right around the corner. You are in walking distance of 16th street walking mall (movie theatre, Starbucks, Pinkberry, bars, H&M, Victoria's Secret, etc.

This hotel is not for anyone wanting to impress a date, but for an economical choice it's perfect. Oh, and valet is 22 dollars per day.

Room Tip: ask for a "view" which may get you a higher quiter floor. There are no views except for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The location is great and the value too. I have no complaints about the hotel overall, just needs some updating. The towels were old & thin, the bathroom was tiny and very outdated. It would be considered vintage now. The hallways and carpet are outdated. The thermostat was broken the room was cold. Overnight parking is in the $22 range. I would stay at the hotel again if I needed a downtown location. The price is right.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I have stayed here several times over the past year or so, and realize I should have reviewed it before. The price competitiveness of this hotel cannot be beat. It is also connected to The Brown Palace Hotel (it actually used to be the Brown Palace West or something) so you have all of the amenities of a grand hotel at your disposal, including 24 HOUR ROOM SERVICE!!!! The suites and deluxe rooms and great, and very large, maybe a little too large because they never seem to have enough furniture for the room size. A few drawbacks: hall and other room noise can be susbtantial; the bathrooms suck, no way around it (they are like late fifties early sixties "ultra modern" so its really like your very own airline potty but with a bathtub). Staff is warm, accomodating and efficent. Highly recommend the Brown Palace Macaroons from room service, and you can afford them when you save money by staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoweColaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortDenverFD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear RoweColaw,
Thank you for your kind words. Comfort Inn Downtown’s unique relationship with the historic Brown Palace Hotel and Spa provides four star luxuries with a value price. Our room service is provided by the team of confectionary genius’ of the Brown Palace Kitchens. We make the Macaroons and all of our pastries daily for your enjoyment. We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Brandt Ellwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is in a great area of downtown Denver, walking distance to the 16th street mall, restaurants, public transportation and shopping. When I travel I do not need luxurious hotel and/or spa resorts, I look for reasonably priced, great location and cleanliness. I found that here. The gentleman working at the front desk when I checked in upgraded me to a suite from a regular room at no additional cost and without any inquiry from me.

The Comfort Inn is adjacent to a 4 star hotel, The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. In fact it appears that the Comfort Inn building itself was a part of the Brown Palace as some of the decor is similar. The hotels connect via a walk way on the second floor. Because of the connection to the Brown Palace, the Comfort Inn has all of the amenities of a 4 star hotel, without the 4 star hotel price, with one exception, the free breakfast was supposedly only available to Comfort Inn guests (I wouldn't doubt a guest from the other hotel sneaks in now and again).

The employees from the janitor, whom I happened upon in the wee early morning hours while waiting to catch the airport shuttle, the front desk personnel and the valets. They all were professional, pleasant and extremely available to help you with anything you might need. Again, I got 4 star treatment, without the 4 star price.

I booked far in advance to get a great price (average $119/night). Pets are welcome here and the cancellation policy can't be beat. A few weeks later the hotel was sold out for the weekend I was going to be there and during the week days the price was increased about $20 more dollars a day. I had read a past review/complaint about hearing people talking through the walls, yeah you can, but I wasn't in the room so long that it bothered me, and if it occured at night, I'm heavy sleeper so that wasn't a problem either. If you spend all day in the room or are a light sleeper, I can see how this would be bothersome. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate for my needs. The only thing that I would add is a self service laundry room then it would be perfect.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ha_Y_an_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#57 of 157 in Denver
1,529 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Denver Downtown
Aloft Denver Downtown
#46 of 157 in Denver
292 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing