We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grand Lodge Crested Butte(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk Mountain Lodge(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$282
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge at Mountaineer Square(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$277
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Elevation Hotel & Spa(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$161
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Crested Butte(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nordic Inn(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cristiana Guesthaus(Crested Butte)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Queen Hotel(Crested Butte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
183
15
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
15
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscement creekred foxwild rosefire pitgas stoverustic charmmodern amenitiesminute drivewarming hutperfect mountainhiking trailswe've stayedtwo nightswonderful hostsa great stayin townspring break
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

First off, great property was doubletop cabin, truly without equal in my experience. Secondly, not everyone sees dog-friendly lodging a bonus. The owners dogs run around unattended, trying to sniff your butt and jump up at you at every turn. There were dog hairs on our items when we left. Thirdly, there is a long list of things they will charge you additional for on the fridge, which is tacky and unwelcoming at that price point, one of which was the property must be left in the state it was found, basically carte blanche authority to charge you extra. I would have given them 4/5 rating if dogs, no matter to whom they belong, were not allowed to roam unattended, and some accommodations were not pet friendly, which is reasonable to expect from any lodging.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our family loves it here! In 2010 we stayed at Oh be Joyful & this December at Cottonwood. We needed to drive a few minutes up Cement Creek for cross country skiing since this year the snow was spotty right from the cabin. Jotul woodstove cranks out the heat and there is a back up gas stove for when you are out or overnight so it the cabin does not become too chilly. We are very comfortable & appreciate being "unplugged" in this special place. Our boys (ages 8 & 11) really appreciate coming here. We hope to come every year at the holidays. We have yet to visit during the warmer weather but the mountain biking & fly fishing must be fantastic. The hosts are available & attentive but are also not at all in your space - it is very private.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We spent about a week searching for a cabin in CO that fit what we were looking for when it comes to the balance between rustic and comfortable. Pioneer Guest Cabins was one of our first choices but we kept searching for days just to make sure. We always came back to Pioneer and their excellent web site with great pictures, descriptions and easily navigated site.

The cabins are situated in the woods next to Cement Creek less than 7 miles from Crested Butte and less than a mile from Crested Butte South (small community with a general store for any forgotten supplies).

We arrived after 7pm do to a 5 hour drive from Hayden/Yampa Airport on several back country roads, but were delighted to have a a note on the office door with our cabin key and instructions. We arrived in our cabin, "Homestead", which had been dimly light and already heated by the quaint gas fireplace. It was perfect!

After settling in we headed to Crested Butte for dinner at "The Secret Stash" for a gourmet pizza and a few beers. Back at the cabin we settled in for a cozy and comfortable nights sleep in a surprisingly solid and draft free cabin, which is amazing considering it was built in the 1930's. The sheets and towels were fresh and clean and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare most meals. The cabin is small and the bathroom is tiny, but it was perfect for two people and a dog. We didn't use the second bedroom except to put our clothes and such, but another close couple or a child (or two) would be fine sleeping there.

The next day we meet with Matt (the owner) and settle up on the bill and got a lot of useful information about places to eat in town, trials to hike right from the cabin as well as were to get any supplies for the cabin right there in the office if it was late or the owners were not home.

We headed back to Crested Butte for a wonderful breakfast at Paradise Cafe then to Mountain Earth Whole Foods for supplies for our dinner on the camp fire later that night.
After a lil window shopping in town we headed back to Pioneer for a steep hike that begins from the just behind the cabin to a trail that took about an hour and a half to the old warming house on top of the mountain left over from the old ski resort that existed on the property in the mid to late 1930's.

That night we prepared a fire on the private fire pit in front of the cabin along side the cement creek, which was a perfect setting for couples, friends and families alike. The site and cabin are semi private with about 75 to 100 yards between most cabins, but you really feel like your out in the woods, but not so separated from civilization that your alienated. The owners are very accommodating and friendly, including their two dogs, "Kita" and "Toby".

We could not have asked for a more pleasurable place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. I know we'll be back!

Room Tip: We only were in our cabin "Homestead", but could tell from the outside that the other cabins were just as nice and cozy. The Red Fox seemed cozy as well, but is the first cabin in the resort as you turn in and may see more traffic than the others. Otherwise it's hard to go wrong with any cabin at this resort.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Would just like to say a big THANK YOU for your hospitality. God created the world in seven days but he needed one extra day to create the beautiful scenery in Colorado. We have traveled all over your state and seen some beautiful country, but staying in the "Wild Rose" cabin was very special. The perferct getaway, quiet, peaceful, the fresh air, and all the surroudings. This was our first visit to Pioneer Guest Cabins and it won't be our last. An inspiration for "Little Warrior"
Matt and Leah - Thank you!

Edward and Anne - Crosby, Texas

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great Hospitality! We loved the peace and serenity of the mountains. We stayed in the OH Be Joyful, and the cabin was perfect for our family. While we were there, we experienced horseback riding with Tenderfoot Outfitters (Awesome!!!) fishing, and white water rafting with Scenic River Tours. I must say my favorite thing was hiking in the mountains where I saw the most beautiful country God has ever created!!! We loved our vacation at the Pioneer Guest Cabins and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Oh Be Joyful is perfect because it is at the end of the road. There is no traffic, and the view is breathtaking!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews