We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, slow service”
Review of La Taverne

La Taverne
Ranked #64 of 1,651 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The expansive dinner menu of La Taverne sizzles with the finest selection of hand-cut steaks, chops, prime rib and seafood available in Colorado Springs. A wide variety of cold shellfish, classic appetizers, homemade soups, and more provide a wide variety of options for every diner. For lunch, La Taverne serves up favorites such as Seafood Salad Louis, sandwiches, and delicious flatbreads. Relax in Entre Deux with a beverage selection from the expanded wine or classic cocktail program. Sit in the Front Room while keeping time to the live music of La Taverne orchestra Friday through Sunday evenings. Or choose to dine in the airy Le Jardin among lush florals and the stunning 16-foot chandelier for an al fresco feel. Attire: CASUAL DRESS Bermuda length shorts, denim and collared shirts are suggested. Please no athletic wear, pool attire or gentlemen's hats. RESORT CASUAL Dressy denim and collared shirts are required. Seasonal sport coat or blazer suggested. Please no athletic wear, sport wear, shorts, pool attire or gentlemen's hats.
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Our party of 4 enjoyed our visit to La Taverne. We were seated promptly but the service was lacking. The steaks were excellent as were the salads & soup, but the service was slow, somewhat inattentive. A party of 6 was seated 15 minutes after us, but were served apps & entrees before us by the same server. Overall, we enjoyed the visit, but were disappointed by the service. A 20% service charge is added with a discretionary tip option added ( we did not add anything) which is presumptuous . We’ll return, but the service needs to step up their game.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Excellent choice for beef and seafood. Caesar salad was a bit disappointing and the scallops were overwhelmed by the bacon bits (too smoky and salty). Order them without the bacon and you're probably fine. Terrific service - attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Wow - beautiful restaurant in the main Broadmoor Hotel building. Our server welcomed us with friendly and attentive service. A dish loaded with different rolls and butter started our lunch. My friend and I ordered the tasty chicken salad entree with melon slices and delicious zucchini bread. So good with generous portions we could not finish so we brought half home to enjoy later. The iced tea was delicious too.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank seabird0855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Recommend a steak or a pork chop. Restaurant takes pride in preparation and presentation. You will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tony80126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Let me start by saying the Broadmoor is a world-class resort. We have visited it many times and have had cocktails and dinner there.
For two years from 2010-2012 my wife and I used to have Sunday dinner at the Tavern. There was also live music and many locals came to dance.
We have returned to Colorado Springs and are staying for the month of September.
This past weekend we had guests in town and had told them about the Tavern.
To begin, we tried to make a reservation from the car on speaker phone, so all four of us heard the conversation.
The person we asked for a 7:30 reservation in the front room told us they were booked and could only get us in at 6:45 or 8:15. He would have to get his supervisor to try to work it out. We did accept the 6:45 reservation.
Total shock when we arrived and approximately all 17 tables in the front were empty.
We were seated and throughout the next three hours, the room remained half empty.
Many of the incoming people seemed to be led to the back room, leaving us in dismay at to why we couldn't have the original 7:30 request for the front room.
Now for the restaurant and its poor service and totally unacceptable food.!
Our waiter appeared to not totally understand our requests while ordering.
All four of us ordered a steak filet, three 6 ounce and one 10 ounce. Two of the smaller filets were ordered with shrimp and lobster on the side. All four steaks were mediocre warm or basically cold. The lobster appeared to be frozen stuck to the shell and was difficult to separate, scraping it from the shell. The waiter brought a second one but it wasn't much better.
Two of us ordered a loaded baked potato, it was so cold the butter and sour cream would not melt.
A side order of spinach and green beans were ordered and the spinach was cold and green beans barely cooked..
My 10 ounce filet, which I ordered Pittsburgh style was absolutely cold with a soft crust.
All of this was happening and our waiter was never there for us to complain.
Needles to say, our $457.00 dinner and cocktails was ruined, with our waiter being totally indifferent and otherwise not attentive to our dissatisfaction.
Our guests from out of town were totally disappointed as I.
We also prior to going to dinner had drinks in the Hotel Bar. The service was wonderful.
We have guests arriving this coming weekend and the Broadmoor for dinner will be off limits.
What a shame for such a beautiful destination.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coach4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverne also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to La Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing