We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Royal Gorge Route Railroad
Ranked #10 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F-7 streamlined locomotives follow a route along the "Grand Canyon of the Arkansas River" and feature Twilight and Dinner trains.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My family and I visited the Royal Gorge Railroad in early November. We booked the late morning tour. We boarded the train based on which compartment you were in. I listened to the reviews on trip advisor and booked the Vista Dome and requested the seating on the side of the train which faced the gorge. The Visa Dome was worth the extra money! The train was barely half full and we spent time outside in the open air car taking lots of gorgeous photos! There was a full lunch menu but we only ordered drinks and deserts. The staff was very friendly and the gentleman in the open air car gave us lots of history about the gorge and even the train. I would highly recommend this trip!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwizoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    325
    93
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Santa Express was lacking charm and organization!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My family which consited of my husband, 2 year old, 8 year old, and myself went on the Santa Express the Friday before Christmas. We were all very disappointed by the trip. It seemed hard to engage my two year old and my eight year old said it was boring and lame. Santa's village was just some small building lit up by lights. The caroling and story telling was done by tired 20 year olds who seemed bored and not into it! For how much we paid I expected something more. I would not waste my money on this in the future.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

What we like to do is to ride the RR first, then drive to Royal Gorge park. It's so neat to see things from both perspectives. The train is so neat, because you can chill out inside or go onto the open air cart and take in the views! It's really neat to see the people rafting down the river too!

Helpful?
1 Thank luvlifeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and a Relaxing Journey”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I really love the Royal Gorge Route Railroad. I have done the wine train as well as the standard vista dome train. Both were a relaxing way to spend a few hours. The views are stunning, and the train itself is a fun little journey.

Helpful?
1 Thank law_girl_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Santa Train was a great experience!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We went to the lunch time Santa train. It was well organized and the elves did a wonderful job of entertaining the kids. Santa was "real" and came through and met with each individual child, delivering a bell as a special take away. Lunch was surprisingly good. Not a lot of choices (sandwiches) but they were all good quality and served hot. Photos w/Santa came out good and quickly. Line was long and a bit chaotic for photos, but overall came out fine.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank adwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Gorge Route Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Route Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing