We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Lodge Rooms, Not Great Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottonwood Hot Springs Inn & Health Spa
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Noisy Lodge Rooms, Not Great Customer Service”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We received a very gruff greeting because we arrived ten minutes early. Not "Welcome to Cottonwood Hot Springs in and Health Spa. We're glad you decided to stay with us." Shame on us for being early. Our room was not made up while we were there, but they expected us to tip, even leaving a tip envelope in the room for that purpose.

The room was acceptable. We had a king room on the end of the lodge which helped to keep the noise down. The rooms vent directly into the hallway. A man was discussing sensitive personal matters right outside of our room. He may not have known we could hear everyting. The mattress sloped to the center which made sleeping a bit awkward. The cleanliness was acceptable. It wouldn't take much to upgrade the room to very good standards. Painting over mold is never a good thing. The tub faucet leaked. There wasn't a stopper in the sink. The microwave and the fridge were nice to have.

The springs are better than those at Mt Princeton. The rooms at Mt Princeton are better, however. We drove to Buena Vista for meals. We brought a small coffee maker with us as the room didn't have one.

Room Tip: Ask for room 12, if you want a king. No neighbors on one side. Wear earplugs so as to not hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    24
    15
    18
    38
See reviews for
20
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well, we didn't even get to stay. I made a reservation for this past Sunday over a month ago. I reserved a double bed in the dorm room. We showed up after a 9 hour hiking day, looking forward to soaking and relaxing. Upon arrival we were told the whole dorm room was rented to a single family. Ummmm, huh!? The clerk look through all of the piles of paperwork only to find that whomever originally took down our reservation neglected to put down the actual date of our stay! After looking at the botched reservation, I noticed that my phone number was written down incorrectly, even IF they would have tried to call, they would have had the wrong number. Wow!

Ok, so the person taking reservations that day was having a crappy day or something, didn't write down a date or my phone number right, at least rectify the situation! Comp us a room some other time, offer us something for our inconvenience. Fortunately we were only a 2 1/2 hour drive from home and not out of state on vacation. On a holiday weekend, there is NO other options available.

I have stayed here many, many times over the past decade, I don't think I will ever be back after this. Sorry Cottonwood Hot Springs, but you lack of customer service, run down rooms, and over charging your customers give you a big thumbs down form me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amydg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buena Vista hotels

Salida, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Cottonwood Hotsprings has succeeded in discouraging bringing children to use its hot springs facilities. They have recently raised their rates to $10.00 for children 0-5!! This makes the grand total for a one-hour soak for a family of 4 (2 adults / 2 children under 5) to $50.00!! This is a ridiculous price to pay and, due to some of my experiences in the past, I suspect that this is their way of discouraging families to use their facilities.
Their staff is unfriendly, unprofessional, and I would not recommend you use these hotsprings, especially if you have kids. Mt. Princeton is just down the road and they are much more professional, friendly, and kids under 3 are free!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank August D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Very disappointed with the condition of the property. We stayed in cabin #3 and while my husband didn't mind the place, I was extremely disappointed with the condition of everything within it. The couch looked like something you'd fine on the side of the road with a "free" sign attached to it. Upon inspecting one of the beds, the mattress pad had stains all over it and holes in the foam topper. I felt like I was sleeping in a taco all night as the bed sagged to the middle. The only thing I liked about this cabin was the private hot spring tub outside. It was clean, the water was hot and it sits right next to the river so the sound of the water rushing is quite nice. The main public hot springs were OK, but I felt like there was a lot of clutter surrounding them. Overall, this place has potential, but it needs an extreme cleaning and facelift. I won't return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

my husband and i got this trip as a gift and we looked forward to going for 2mths. we are black americans and we did not feel welcome at, the springs or in the town. it was absolutely horrible. there are no electronics in the rooms, and the rooms are raged and years old. do not waste your money or time unless you condone this type of behavior.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbeesdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
8.5 km away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
442 reviews
37.0 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
10.3 km away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
9.5 km away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
186 reviews
8.4 km away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Hot Springs Inn & Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Hot Springs Inn & Health Spa

Property: Cottonwood Hot Springs Inn & Health Spa
Address: 18999 County Road 306, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9502
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a unique one of a kind natural hot springs, that also has lodging, 12 lodge rooms, I handicap suite, 3 cabins, and 1 3bd cottage, each cabin has its own private hot spring pool. 1 weekly vacation cabin. and a 5 room B&B. day soaking is $15/$20. Our rates include the use of the 5 outdoor soaking pools. Our rooms have been completely remodeled after a mudslide and a fire in 2013.because of the fire we are still in the process of the rebuild. All of our rooms have been upgraded to be as green as possible. All natural bedding, Led lighting, in floor heating, wind towers, solar arrays etc. our focus is on our hot spring experience, and the spa that offers a variety of therapies. we also host workshops and seminars. We are a alcohol and smoke free environment. Our focus is on creating a quiet and peaceful experience for adults. open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottonwood Hot Springs Inn & Health Hotel Buena Vista
Cottonwood Hot Springs Inn And Health Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing